Skip to content

More millet

May 5, 2010

After hearing about umami for the past few years, I never really actually did any research on how the taste could be intensified. I looked it up on www.umamiinfo.com and found out that there are certain combinations of foods that can make the taste really pop. Looking at my bag of frozen seafood that contains crabsticks, oysters, shrimp, octopus, and squid, I decided to make something that would taste great and also use up my millet (NOT my favorite grain).

This is the millet after I cooked it. I actually burnt it a little because the pot I was cooking it in burns things EXTREMELY easily. Good thing I love the burnt taste ;)

I’ve actually been practicing using the flower feature on my digital camera (sad, I just found out about it!) and I definitely think they’ve been turning out nicer. As a result, my final product, which tastes DELICIOUS with the marriage of tomatoes and seafood.

And the recipe is below.

Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 diced onion
3 cloves minced garlic
3 diced medium tomatoes
2 diced celery stalks
1.5 cup water
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
dash of salt
1/2 cup millet
1 cup water
8 oz frozen seafood

Directions
(1) Heat oil in a pan on high and add garlic and onion. Let it cook for about 1 minute.
(2) Add the tomatoes and the celery and seasonings. Cook for about another minute, then add the water.
(3) Cover the pan, bring to a boil, and let simmer for about 30 minutes.
(4) Heat another pan on high for several minutes. Add millet, toasting it for about a minute. Then add the water and let simmer for about 15 minutes. Add water if needed.
(5) Add the seafood to the tomato mixture. Cover, boil, and let simmer for another 6 minutes.
(6) Plate the millet. Then add the tomato and seafood mixture to the top.

Yumm! So good. And I love burnt millet =]

In other news, here are more giveaways:

Stevia giveaway
Shopping spree giveaway
Raw Food book giveaway
Swimsuit giveaway!
Amazon gift certificate giveaway
And of course, Danica’s Whole Foods gc

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Cheers for writing this it was useful for a paper I am at this time writing for my finals. Thanks

    Gucci Shoes

Leave a Reply

