Skip to content

Stolen garlic chicken livers

December 20, 2011

I saw this recipe online for “stolen chicken livers” from a restaurant, which piqued my interest since I’m always looking for recipes that use up liver which don’t have a really strong liver taste. I did hear that soaking liver in milk helps tone down the smell and flavor, but I didn’t want to waste milk just for this purpose.

This recipe uses the strong taste of freshly chopped raw garlic and the sourness of lemons to cut the taste of the chicken liver. I thought that was really smart, so I followed the recipe with my own edit of adding vinegar instead of lemon, as I didn’t have any, and thought it was still delicious and tender. I would definitely make liver using this recipe again. The dry fry really helps to cook the center and not brown the outside too fast, which is what normal frying does.

Ingredients
1 lb chicken livers
1 Tbsp cooking fat (I used coconut oil)
1 Tbsp white vinegar
1 tsp salt
1/2 bulb garlic

Directions
(1) Chop up garlic and set aside in a bowl.
(2) Heat up pan until surface seems hot enough for a drop of water to immediately evaporate. Add chicken livers and dry fry for 3-4 minutes per side, until browned on the outside.
(3) Add oil, vinegar, and salt. Stir to incorporate.
(4) Once the livers are entirely cooked through, add to the bowl of chopped garlic, and toss to mix.
(5) Serve hot, while livers are still tender.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

