Skip to content

Fat free crispy potato puffs

October 8, 2013

I have been eating a lot of potatoes like crazy over the past week, especially since I overdid it buying some cheap potato sacks on my last grocery trip. Since I still had about 6 lbs of them left to go, I started searching for some original, healthy, and easy potato recipes that were different than my current delicious methods of preparation, which include coating the potato in some sort of oil to retain crispiness.

Crispiness

My inspiration came from http://www.fifteenspatulas.com, where the chef of the website used flour as a means to crisp up the texture without having to use a bunch of cooking oil. I’ve taken things into my own gluten-free hands and have successfully replaced with rice and tapioca flour. I can imagine potato flour would also work in this case.

Baking

Instead of sprinkling generously with the salt after placing the potatoes in a pan, I add the salt to the flour mixture so that it’s already ingrained into the potato. Also, this helps my expensive pink Himalayan salt not go to waste between the wall crevices that are the potato sides.

Bonus: This method warms up the house, which is always quite pleasant in the middle of autumn.

Ingredients
1 lb potatoes
2 tsp rice or tapioca flour
1/8 tsp salt

Directions
(1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
(2) Peel and cube the potatoes into uniform pieces. Bring the pieces to boil in a pot of water and allow to boil 3-5 minutes.
(3) Drain the potatoes and let sit to allow moisture to evaporate. Coat the pieces with the flour and salt in a dry bowl.
(4) Transfer potato pieces to a tray, being careful to separate all the pieces, and place in oven to cook for 30-35 minutes. Remove when browned as desired.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Frank Mosher permalink

    Do you think you could possibly spice these up a little? How about a little Rosemary at least!

    • Definitely! I’d probably not use rosemary since the pieces are so big and they would probably not get stuck onto the potatoes as easily, but definitely some chili powder or Italian seasoning would work nicely. I like bland food so the salt only works for me :)

Leave a Reply

