Skip to content
Tags

Tropical fruit: the soursop

January 10, 2010

So before I left to drive to get on my plane to go back to California for school, my mom cut open a soursop fruit that a friend gave her. We thought it was some kind of badly-grown durian, so I was just going to let my mom enjoy the smelly fruit that she buys often in China, and just leave it at that. 10 minutes later, the so-called durian was half demolished by yours truly.

soursopThis fruit was incredibly delicious! The way you’re supposed to eat it is to peel off the skin and take parts of the white flesh off with your hands and eat it. It tasted (as other online websites accurately describe) like a cross between a strawberry and a pineapple. I would even venture far enough to say that it tasted similarly to an apple-banana, though more sour. The flesh was extremely fibrous, and full of inedible seeds that you’re supposed to either pick out with your hands or spit out. I would definitely recommend anybody to try this fruit whenever they’re in a tropical environment.

I can proudly say that I’ve tried a variety of tropical fruits, which include apple-bananas, coconut, dragonfruit, durian, guava, jackfruit, longan, lychee, mango, mangosteen, papaya, pineapple, pomelo, rambutan, sapodilla, starfruit, sweetsop, and tamarind. I really want to try the black sapote, the miracle fruit, and the REAL passionfruit that is not already been put in pie or syrup/juice form. In the meantime, I’ll dream on it, now that I have to go to sleep.

Ciao!
Dai Dai

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

