Skip to content

Refreshing with Avocado

February 3, 2010

So I’ve kind of been off the wagon lately with my eating habits, and the pounds have been creeping up on me. I’ve realized that what I REALLY need is a week’s worth of a full night’s rest of at least 8 hours. At the same time I doubt I’ve been getting enough fats in my diet, which is why I’ve been snacking a lot (mostly Ghirardelli squares – yikes!). Therefore, today I decided to turn not to the 86% chocolates that my roommate has been offering me, but to avocados!

AvocadoI used to think that nuts were the only really healthy fat, since I like to get my fat with a bunch of nutrients, too (oil doesn’t have many vitamins to offer on its own…). But lately avocados have been on sale at my nearest supermarket, so I went and bought them to make…avocado chocolate pudding! Mmm monounsaturated fat goodness! Here was my recipe that I just winged!

Ingredients:
50g ripe avocado
5g cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s unsweetened)
2g vanilla extract
1.5 teaspoons equivalent of sugar (I used Trader Joe’s stevia)
a dash of salt
a dash of coffee powder

I just blended everything together really well for a few minutes, and I got this delicious pudding as a reward. I do think this is easy with smaller batches, and for someone who doesn’t have a blender, I didn’t really have a choice anyway. I forgot to take a picture of it, so I’ll try to remember to do so next time as an update to this post. But this snack was only about 100 calories, and it provided about 5g of monounsaturated fats (7.5g total), 3g of fiber, and a decent amount of potassium, Vitamin K, Vitamin C, and folate! Go avocados!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

