Skip to content

Fire and Ice Tomatoes

March 5, 2010

I had a lot of onions, tomatoes, and green leaves sitting in my fridge earlier today, so I made Fire and Ice Tomatoes again. This is a recipe I got from Allrecipes.

The first time I made this recipe, I didn’t really like it that much because all the liquid sank to the bottom, which was the best tasting part of the recipe, and so I pretty much ate tomatoes, cucumbers, and onions, and then had a treat of the dressing at the very end. I refused to make the same mistake again, so this time I pre-salted the cucumber, which involves tossing it with a little salt and letting it sit for about 20 minutes. This way, the recipe had a lot less water in it, which allowed my dressing to adhere to the salad components. Anyway, you can find below my altered version of the recipe.

Fire and Ice Tomatoes

Ingredients

4 medium roma tomatoes, cubed
1/2 large cucumber, cubed
1/2 medium onion, sliced
1/3 cup white vinegar
1/4 tsp stevia
2 Tablespoons mustard
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions
(1) In a large bowl, combine onions and tomatoes.
(2) In a saucepan, boil the vinegar, stevia, mustard and cayenne for 1 minute.
(3) Pour mixture over tomatoes and onion; toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate until cool, about an hour.
(4) Meanwhile, in another bowl, add salt and cucumbers; toss to combine. Wait 20 minutes, then drain.
(5) Add cucumber to tomato and onion and mixture; toss to coat.

Enjoy!
Dai Dai

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Yuuuuuuuum!!!1 That salad looks divine!!! All my favorite things I think I must make it!!

    Thanks for the recipe!

    Have a fabulous weekend!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

