Skip to content

2010 Spring China Trip

March 19, 2010

Wow! So I just got back from my 10 day break to China, and it was COLD! It was never higher than 15 degrees Celsius at midafternoon of a good day, which kept a food-obsessed fitness freak like me indoors, eating lots of food and gaining lots of fat.

Good news is, at least the food was GOOD. First best thing was the yak milk and yak yogurt. So rich, unpasteurized, but tantalizing for the taste buds.

Then I found the weirdest thing: a hybrid water melon and winter melon! I wonder how that would taste in the summer as a dessert…or in soup?

Then Yunnan’s specialty in making dried preserved fruit drove me to buy a freshly packaged dried peaches, which cost me only 15 Yuan for a hefty package, of which the ingredients were dried peaches, cane sugar, and salt.

Then I saw a Laughing Cow in BACON and PIZZA flavors! I really had to try them, so I purchased them despite the American retail price of 21.8 Yuan. I can say that pizza was amazing, but the bacon not so much. But then again, I’m not a huge fan of bacon, and my brother who LOVES his meat said it was great, so maybe it was just me.

Finally, nothing beats dessert more than chewing a sugar cane stalk. It’s good for digestion, and is supposedly really good for coughs and sore throats. I got an entire stalk for only 11.3 Yuan! (pictured is half of the stalk already eaten by me xD)

Plus Have Faith is having a food processor giveaway.

Anyway I have lots of mail, and after sorting through them I’ll get back to everyone on the goodies I have been receiving. As for now, I’m off to the gym!

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

One Comment
  1. It is useful to try everything in practice anyway and I like that here it’s always possible to find something new. 🙂

Leave a Reply

