Skip to content

I love Trader Joes!

April 18, 2010

Gosh, it’s been so long since my last post. I’ve been very busy at college working on all my projects for business classes and practicing my piano for juries that are actually coming up in two weeks. However, I didn’t want to resist going to Trader Joe’s this weekend to pick up some yummy snacks!

The first thing I bought was their freeze-dried mangoes, since they were the cheapest of the freeze-dried fruit for the weights.

In my opinion, they weren’t really that great. I think I prefer the regular dried mangoes, since texturally these didn’t really work for me. But at least they are healthy, since freeze-drying preserves a lot of the nutrients without adding weird-sounding additives!

Next, I also picked up some dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds! Sooooooo good….:D

I personally like sucking on the chocolate until I get to the sweet center that has a bit of a crunch to it. Chocolate and fruit are seriously the best combination (except for chocolate by itself, of course). Unfortunately, I can’t really tell that the taste is of pomegranate – it’s just really sweet with a fruity tone. Not a bad product though, especially since the servings are really small.

I also finally jumped back on the bento wagon after neglecting making REAL food for myself … a lot of project work made me lazy and I just ate a bunch of unhealthy snacks D: Good thing I’m back on the wagon with that, and the exercise!

Below is my black rice, steamed broccoli, and steamed frozen mixed seafood, which I dipped into some vinegar…mmm!

To increase my vegetable intake, I also made some hijiki cucumber salad.

The recipe is below:

Ingredients
1/2 cup dried hijiki
1 small cucumber
1 Tablespoon sesame oil
1 Tablespoon diced onion
1 Tablespoon white vinegar
a dash of sugar
a dash of salt

Directions
(1) Add warm water to dried hijiki for half an hour.
(2) Dice cucumber and onion.
(3) Drain seaweed and toss all the ingredients together.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

2 Comments
  1. thanks for visiting my blog. i don’t need to lose weight though. if anything, i need to gain.

  2. Hello! Just adding a brief little comment in your blog comments to say hello from Vancouver, which is up here in Canada. I’m just consistently amazed at the high quality of writing that I can easily find on the internet by smacking the “I’m Feeling Lucky” button on Google! At any rate I will not vacuum up any more of your time, I wanted to say hello there and enjoy the summer, eh.

Leave a Reply

