Skip to content

Korean soup

May 21, 2010

Before I left school, I had the perfect ingredients for Sundubu Jjigae in my pantry and decided to make it one night.

I pulled it from My Korean Kitchen, where the author keeps a large collection of authentic Korean recipes that I’ve been itching to try. I’ve made this recipe using some modifications, since I can’t handle extremely spicy recipes, and used some different ingredients based on what I had.

Ingredients
0.5 block silken tofu
0.5 pound frozen unshelled little-neck clams 200g
10g dried kombu
5g dried wood ear mushrooms
1.5 cups water
0.5 Tablespoon chili powder
0.5 Tablespoon oil
1 Tablespoon minced garlic
1 Tablespoon chopped onion
1 teaspoon soy sauce
Dash of black pepper and salt to taste

Directions
(1) Soak the kombu and mushrooms in 1.5 cup water for 30 minutes while thawing the clams.
(2) Heat a pan on the stove and throw in the oil, garlic, and onion and stir for 2 minutes.
(3) Add chili powder and stir for another minute.
(4) Add the clams and stir for 30 seconds.
(5) Add the water, kombu, mushrooms, and tofu. Continue to cook until the water visibly boils.
(6) Add the soy sauce, black pepper, and salt. Boil for another minute, and turn off the heat to serve.

And here’s a peanut butter giveaway!
Tofu press giveaway
Good Earth food giveaway

Anyway, I probably won’t be posting very much this summer since my mom would be preparing most of the foods, and she cooks by throwing oil with random Chinese vegetables and meats, so there’s nothing too difficult about her cooking. I will hopefully be posting product reviews, though, so keep dropping by!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

One Comment
  1. thanks for the linkback and your entries 🙂

Leave a Reply

