Skip to content

Organic yogurt bar review

July 4, 2010

Just yesterday the 4th of July coupon sale at Costco ended. Meaning? It was incredibly CRAZY trying to wait to find parking and navigating through the warehouse amongst holiday-driven people chewing on samples while they browsed through the food aisles for their barbecues.

Since the coupons were expiring, my mom wanted to make a last-ditch effort to go to Costco to take advantage of the prices. Among the items, Julie’s Organic Lowfat Frozen Yogurt Strawberry flavor 12-pack had a $2 off coupon from it’s $10 price. We wanted to try this brand for a while since it looked really good (and good for you!), so we bought a pack.

Apparently the website is devoid of the ingredients and nutritional information, so I have provided them below. They seem pretty healthy, considering there aren’t too many weird ingredients. Pretty hefty list of bacteria as well.

Ingredients: Cultured pasteurized organic nonfat milk, organic dehydrated cane juice, organic strawberries, organic cream, organic tapioca syrup, fructan (natural dietary fiber), citric acid, natural flavors, carob bean gum, guar gum, organic red beet juice. Contains Live and Active Cultures: L. acidophilus, S. thermophilus, L. bulgaricus, L. casei, L. rhamnosus, B.bifidum.

Nutrition Facts:
Serving size 1 bar (78g)
Calories: 120
Total Fat: 2g
Saturated Fat: 1.5g
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 10mg
Sodium: 45mg
Total Carbohydrate: 23g
Dietary Fiber: 3g
Sugars: 17g
Protein: 3g
Vitamin A: 0%
Vitamin C: 0%
Calcium: 10%
Iron: 0%

Now, we picked up these frozen yogurt bars last on our way to the register, and drove home right away after packing it with the other frozen items in our cooler in the trunk. However, 15 minutes after driving home, we found all the bars to be melted, which makes them as runny as Yogurtland froyo – not a good sign on my part.

So that night, after they were properly frozen, we each took a package out and dumped the contents in a bowl, since the bars were so disfigured from being melted.

Taste-wise? Just okay. Tastes like generic strawberry froyo. A little bit too sweet, and melted in about 5 minutes in my bowl, so not a bar for people who like to take their sweet time licking ice cream off their spoon.

My verdict? Not worth the money. I don’t care that it has a lot of fancy organic stuff within the bars. I would rather take a huge scoop or two of Haagen Dazs strawberry ice cream and be happy without the active cultures and fibers running around in my yummy dessert.

Anyway, tomorrow my family is having visitors again, so I will make a post on baozi, or steamed buns, and other Chinese delicacies pretty soon. Thanks for reading, and happy 4th of July!

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

5 Comments
  1. A truly beneficial publish by you my good friend. We have bookmarked this web page and can are available back again following several days to verify for almost any new posts that you just make.

  2. Great post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Bless you!

  3. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but
    after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely pleased I found it and I’ll be
    bookmarking it and checking back often!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Your Garden

Leave a Reply

