Skip to content

Italian chocolate: Tanzania

September 13, 2010

The second day I arrived in Italy I found a supermarket chain called Esselunga that had a location 3 minutes away from my apartment. Eager to see what kind of chocolate it had to offer, I went straight down the aisle labeled “cioccolate” after hitting the fresh food around the supermarket.

To my delight, I found that chocolate from the store is extremely cheap, compared to the US. The supermarket’s brand of 100g single origin bars ranged in price from 1.20 euro to 1.44 euro. I took the initiative to buy a Tanzania bar.

The ingredients were fairly healthy, as expected of Italian food. It included cacao powder, cane sugar, cacoa butter, vanilla extract, and possibly traces of milk, soy, and nuts.

First biting into the bar, I found that it had the mouthfeel of perhaps a Lindt bar: a bit chalky and not as smooth as I would have liked, which is probably a result of the separate cacao components being put back together into the bar. The taste was first slightly fruity and sour, but quickly turned into wood and earth that subdued the previous flavor.

It was a pretty good bar for the price. I will move on to try the other bars at the supermarket, and will be posting them within the next few weeks. In the meantime, I’m off for some pizza. Arrivederci!

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

