Skip to content

Cote d’Or Sesame Chocolate

September 20, 2010

This past weekend I went to France with a group of friends who were all on the same exchange program as me. We decided to go to Nice, which is on the southern coast of France. The pastries there were very delicious, and I was able to snag a bar of Cote d’Or chocolate that I had never seen before at a nearby grocery store.

I was really curious to see how it would taste, since I grew up eating sesame flavored desserts as part of my Asian background. It would surely be interesting to sneak in a bit of chocolate in that familiar flavor.

The ingredient list included: cacao paste, sugar, cocoa butter, sesame seeds, reduced cocoa, flavoring, and soy lecithin. This 100g bar had also 570 kcals, with 36g of carbohydrates, 44g of fat, and 7.4g of protein.

When I first bit into the bar, I tasted sesame brittle. Not a good sign, since I’m not that huge of a fan of candy. However, as I waited, the earthy taste of chocolate buried itself into my tongue, and I could sort of see the marriage between the two flavors of cacao and sesame. By the time the chocolate melted, I had to chew up the remaining seeds in my mouth, which created a lingering sesame flavor on my mouth.

Overall, I felt this bar did not really deliver on the two tastes together. Granted, I could have just chewed on the bar, which probably would have given me the two flavors together, but I just did not see the point of it, since sesame is meant to be chewed in order to get the full flavor and chocolate is meant to be savored. I was rather disappointed, but at least the price wasn’t too shabby, at 1.77 euro.

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

5 Comments
  1. Simply discovered your web page through Yahoo and I consider this can be a disgrace that you are not ranked upper due to the fact that that is a fantastic post. To switch this I determined to avoid wasting your web site to my RSS reader and I will try to point out you in one of my posts since you actually deserv extra readers when publishing content material of this quality.

    • Thank you for the compliment! It is nice to see that readers enjoy looking up the contents of my site.

  2. This weblog is superior it has got the entire points i sought after to speak about, it has fulfilled my wisdom, i just appreciated this weblog and that i wish to subscribe so can you please inform while your blog gets up to date and what?s the procedure to subscribe in details.

  3. t’s such a tickety-boo site. fabulous, very intriguing!!!

    ——-

    Opony Mozgowe
    Pozycjonowanie

    opony

  4. last few days our class held a similar talk about this topic and you illustrate something we haven’t covered yet, thanks.

    – Laura

Leave a Reply

