Skip to content

Goat milk in Italy

September 26, 2010

About 5 years ago, I went to China with my family and visited the Sichuan province, which is famous for its amazingly spicy foods called “ma-la,” a type of spicy flavor similar to that of the jalapeño, except more intense.

My favorite part of the trip was when we visited a typical country home to drink some wine that could never get you drunk, sip yak milk, and eat yak meat. I absolutely loved all three, since the flavors were more distinct than anything I’ve ever eaten, save the yak meat which tastes very similar to buffalo.

I had longed ever since that moment to drink other types of milk other than cows’, since it was my impression that anything would taste better than commercially prepared milk from cattle raised for the purpose of producing milk. How happy I was to find that goat’s milk was on sale at my supermarket for 1.05 euro for a 500mL carton from the shelf-stable aisle.

In the 500mL carton, there were 220 calories, 15.5g protein, 22.5g carbohydrates, 7.5g fat, and 600mg of calcium. I’m proud to say that I finished it in one sitting, since I had no clue what to do with an open carton of milk that might or might not have spoiled after contact with the air.

The first thing I noticed when I drank from the carton was that it was kind of salty. I turned to the back to find the ingredients, where I found that the ingredient other than goat’s milk was sodium citrate. Understanding that this was for the preservation of the shelf-stable milk, I continued on to drink some more.

Then I realized the flavor that was bothering me a lot more than the salt. It was the game-y flavor. From the milk itself.

For those of you who have never tried goat milk, it is kind of like the flavor of eating a lamb shank but drinking a high fat milk. Not really my preference after years of drinking cow milk, most of which was skim. I like that game flavor on just my monthly game meat, thank you very much.

My verdict? Glad I did not buy the 1L carton in an attempt to save even more money on something I was expecting to like.

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

