Skip to content

Chocolate no-nos

November 13, 2010

First of all, what the heck is the brand Swiss Deluxe? And no, I do not mean the ones from Lindt. I found these chocolate bars on sale at the Supermarket, and bought two types to try: Dark 72%, and Dark and Orange.

I probably should have checked the nutritional information on the back for ingredients and macronutrient ratios in order to understand the real composition of ingredients in this bar. Unfortunately for me and my wallet, I did not, and was going to pay for it dearly.

The first bar I tried was the chocolate and orange. I broke off two squares in my anticipation of eating more good chocolate.

The first bite in, I wondered when the orange scent was going to hit my taste buds. After the chocolate melted, I was left with rather large crystals of sugar, which turned out to be flavored with orange extract. Not the most enjoyable for my chocolate craving or my tongue, which was beginning to get rough from all the sugar crystals.

I hastily finished off the two squares and went for the 72%, hoping that somehow the situation would be rectified. Boy, was I wrong.

The chocolate was very rich, but not in a good way. It felt like I was at the mercy of a European Hersheys bar. It seemed like the company was intent on stuffing a load of cacao flavor into a tiny bar, overloading it with earthiness and desperately “balancing” it with the sugar contents. Evidently they had no experience using cacao types and sugar combinations to achieve a desired chocolate taste. The only good thing I might add about this bar is that it had a smooth mouthfeel, but that definitely did not have any redeeming quality when the taste was all wrong. Hopefully nobody else who loves chocolate will ever come into contact with this bar.

Hope everybody is having a nice weekend!

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

