Skip to content

Trader Joe’s gone high class

February 25, 2011

The other night my roommates and I had a wine and cheese tasting, as my good friend had given me a zinfandel wine to try. Not knowing really what goes with this wine, I decided to buy a bunch of good quality food at Trader Joe’s in order to see what goes well with the wine.

The first thing that came to mind were TJ’s cheeses. Not only are the cheeses at a great price there, but there is quite a selection at the site as well.

In the middle of the board, we had raw blue cheese, which tasted really great. I couldn’t really tell that it was made with raw milk, since the moldy taste of the cheese was so strong.

The one on the right side is the smoked gouda variety. It was my favorite cheese; it had the right semi-soft texture with a slight smokiness along with the mild bite of cheese. At first it reminded me of ham, but I could definitely taste the cheesiness of it.

The one in the middle is the harvati variety. The taste was a bit mild and the texture a little too soft for my liking, since it was less tasty and softer than the gouda, but it was still a solid cheese.

The one on the left was an Irish Dubliner variety of cow cheese. It had a slight sweetness to it after the sharp cheese flavor left my tongue, which was quite delicious. More like a semi-hard cheese, it was perfect for cubing.

Then of course to go with the cheese, we had to bust out some of TJ’s brand of multigrain & flaxseed and classic original crackers, along with their mixed dried fruit – this one had dried mango, dried apricots, dried blueberries, and dried cranberries.

Then separately, we also had some chocolate. It paired the best with the zinfandel out of all the other foods.

The swiss milk chocolate was quite good. I couldn’t really pick out the distinct flavor that most swiss chocolates have, but my roommate smartly distinguished the caramel flavor from the swiss milk in the chocolate. So there you have it.

The fair-trade chocolate was also quite good. A hint of fruitiness with acid and earthy tones complemented the wine quite well. If I had to guess, I would think the beans came from somewhere in northern South America, such as Ecuador. Good stuff.

Altogether, it was a very enjoyable wine tasting. Although I think we enjoyed the food more than the wine, it was a great time to be together with such wonderful friends and have some good quality TJ products to make the night more enjoyable.

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

