Skip to content

Cooling down with aloe vera dessert

April 3, 2011

Last week was my dragon boat competition in Arizona, and I came back home appalled to find out that I missed several spots on my back when applying sunscreen, resulting in some red spots behind my shoulder. I never really use aloe vera, nor do I keep it readily stocked, so to save the $3 on a huge bottle that I would never use again before the expiration date, I headed over to the Hispanic supermarket across the street to buy an aloe vera leaf.

The entire leaf was about a pound and was easily preserved in my refrigerator with some plastic wrap around the stem. I found that chopping off the root end of the leaf every day and applying the slimy, gooey part to my burns really helped ease the pain. After one day the burns stopped hurting, and the redness went away in two days. But after several days, I realized that I still had pretty much the entire leaf left, and I that needed to do something with it. Remembering that it was served in many restaurants in China as part of the meal or desserts, I decided to try to make it using my own hands.

In order to get to the solid aloe in the center, I had to cut away the hard, green outer shell. I did this by first inserting the knife between the gel and the leaf at the stem end. Angling my knife toward the hard exterior, I ended up cutting gingerly all the way down the leaf.

After doing this on both sides, I found that the top 1/3 of the leaf had pretty much no substance, so I ended up tossing it.

Then I cubed it. I found that it was better to cube it into smaller pieces, about 1/2 inch or less per side of the cubes, so that it would cook faster and be less slimy in the center.

Then I placed water in my pan with some pure sugar and tossed the aloe in once it reached the boiling point.

I ended up with some yummy aloe cubes! Some people apparently like to add some citrus, such as lemon or lime, but I preferred mine plain as is. If this is being made to soothe the throat, I would suggest adding honey instead of the sugar in the recipe. However, my base recipe is stated below, which makes one serving.

Ingredients
1 aloe leaf, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
1/4 cup of raw cane sugar or honey
4 cups of water

Directions
(1) Place water with the sugar in a saucepan and bring to a boil.
(2) Add aloe cubes and boil openly without the pan cover for about 10 minutes, until the cubes have the consistency of hard grapes. Do not overboil, as the gel will turn pink and bitter!
(3) Drain water, let cool, and then chill. Add the pieces to yogurt, ice cream, shave ice, or eat them by themselves.

Hope you found this as delicious as I did!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

4 Comments
  1. Remarkable writing. I’ve been reading contents on internet for many days but to tell the truth I never got something really interesting to read out similar to this one.And yes i have tweeted your site cleanpalate.wordpress.com

  2. Generally I don’t learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite great article.

  3. Hey very nice blog!

Leave a Reply

