Skip to content

Lemon poppy seed loaf with stevia baking blend

May 9, 2011

I’ve had my eye on a lemon loaf with stevia recipe for a while, so I finally got around to making it. It was part of the huge batch of recipes that NuNaturals sent me along with their products last year. I made a first batch, but really didn’t like it, so I tweaked the recipe and made it more to my tastes.

The loaf I made ended up being not really a loaf since it occupied so little space in the bread pan, but I just cut it up into thin strips and it looked fine. The ingredients were pretty simple to assemble, unlike the million ingredients most stevia replacement baked goods have. This recipe was also a lot better than some of the other ones I’ve tried that made the baked product with stevia powder taste just terrible.

The recipe required 1/4 cup of lemons, and I found that I only needed just one lemon to yield that much.

After I mixed the ingredients, I found that the baking soda and lemon juice foamed up as they neutralized each other, and it didn’t affect the rising of the loaf too much. It could explain for why the loaf was at flat as it was.

It was pretty tasty, although it got a lot tastier on the next day.

Ingredients
1 small banana, mashed
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 Tbsp plain yogurt
1/4 cup NuNaturals Fiber Baking Blend
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup choice of flour
1 tsp lemon zest
1 tsp poppy seeds

Directions
(1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
(2) Mix the banana, lemon juice, yogurt, baking blend, vanilla extract, and salt together. In a separate bowl mix together the baking soda and flour, and add it slowly to the wet items, being careful not to overmix. Stir in the zest and poppy seeds.
(3) Add the mixture to a bread loaf pan and spread out the batter while trying to smooth it as much as possible. Place it in the oven for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
(4) Take out of the oven and let cool before cutting. Leave overnight to allow flavors to develop.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

One Comment
  1. Spot on with this write-up, I really suppose this web site needs way more consideration. I?ll in all probability be again to learn way more, thanks for that info.

Leave a Reply

