Skip to content

Cucumber cup appetizers with homemade hummus and peanut ginger dip

September 3, 2011

Sorry for the long delay in making a post; I was stuck without internet for almost a month, so I haven’t been able to make any updates. I have been making food in my newfound spare time apart from the internet, so I am excited to be posting things in the next few weeks.

For my last potluck get-together with a big group of friends, I decided to make something vegetable-related since everybody decided to list meat or carbohydrates as their dish of choice. This drove me to find an innovative way of serving vegetables other than boring stir fries or crudites. My solution: homemade vegetable-based dip atop cucumber cups, something that is tasty for omnivores, but also vegan-friendly.

The recipe was quite simple; all one needs is a blender to make the dips, and a knife and spoon for the cucumber cups. I didn’t want to buy tahini, so I ended up using sesame oil and it worked out tasting just as good as regular hummus.

Hummus ingredients
1 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), liquid reserved
2 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons sesame oil

Directions
(1) Throw all ingredients into blender, reserving liquid of the garbanzo beans.
(2) Blend until smooth. Add garbanzo bean liquid if necessary, but not so much so that the dip has the consistency of a smoothie.
(3) Refrigerate overnight for flavors to blend.

I think adding roasted peppers, sun-dried tomatoes, and/or pine nuts would also make a tasty addition to the hummus base. For simplicity’s sake, I left all that fancy stuff out, especially since I had to prepare another dip, with recipe below.

Peanut ginger dressing ingredients
2 medium carrots, about 1/2 pound, chopped
1/4 cup ginger, chopped
2 cloves garlic
1/2 cup peanut butter, smooth preferred
1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 tablespoons soy sauce

Directions
(1) Throw all ingredients into blender. Blend until smooth. Add water if necessary, but not so much so that the dip is the consistency of a smoothie.
(2) Refrigerate overnight to allow flavors to blend.

Now to make the cucumber cups. 3 big cucumbers, about 2 pounds total, would make enough pieces to accommodate all the dip for the recipe stated.

Peel the cucumbers, so that there are alternating strips of skin and skinless areas. Cut into pieces about one inch thick. Scoop out the seed-heavy center with a rounded spoon. Melon scoopers are ideal for this.

Take the dips and place a generous scoop on each cucumber cup. My hummus was a bit runny, but the peanut-ginger sauce turned out perfect. I added a bit of garbanzo bean liquid in the hummus, but didn’t add any liquid to my peanut-ginger dip, which really showed. Next time I’ll avoid adding liquid to the hummus recipe, and I think the consistency would be a lot better.

This was a relatively simple overall recipe that took little time to prepare, and yet had that elegant edge over a huge bowl of stir fry. Cucumber cups are perfect for dip-serving, so I will definitely be using this in the future to experiment with other chunky fillings. In the meantime, please enjoy this recipe as much as my friends and I have!

Dai Dai

One Comment
  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

