Skip to content

Chocolate from TJ’s and WF

September 5, 2011

I absolutely love getting my chocolate products from Trader Joes and Whole Foods. TJ’s has a range of good quality and tasty chocolates for extremely reasonable prices, while WF stocks up on luxury brands and new innovative chocolate products that can be at great prices when on sale.

First off, the Trader Joe’s chocolate covered powerberries. These actually tasted really similar to the huge bag of chocolate-covered acai berries I bought from Costco before. Good tasting, with the sour and sweet balance almost just right, but I really expected to bite into a whole fruit piece or something, instead of a grainy jelly-like version of fruit juice.

Not surprising when I turned to the back for the nutritional information. In one serving, there are 180 calories: 7g fat, 29g carbs, 1g fiber, and 1g protein. At least the redeeming quality is the 6% of iron and 20% of vitamin C? And then the ingredients list:

Dark chocolate (sugar, unsweetened chocolate, cocoa butter, whole milk powder, butter fat; cocoa powder [processed with alkali], soy lecithin, salt, natural flavor); fruit juice blend from concentrates (water [sufficient to reconstitute], acai juice concentrate, pomegranate juice concentrate, cranberry juice concentrate, lemon juice concentrate, blueberry juice concentrate and elderberry juice concentrate); cane sugar; brown rice syrup; pectin; tapioca dextrin; acai puree; citric acid; malic acid; natural flavor; ascorbic acid (vitamin C), confectioners glaze.

Healthy tasting? Not a chance. Good movies or office snack? Most definitely.

Then I went over to Whole Foods and bought myself a dark chocolate bar that was on sale for $1.67.

I will start out by saying that I really love Italian seasoning. For a semester I even cooked exclusively with it in all my cooked vegetables because I really loved the taste of oregano, thyme, and basil. I thought I was going to love this bar.

Nope. While I do love chocolate and thyme separately, they should continue to dabble on my palate with other ingredients only. Perhaps it was because the overpowering taste of the extremely fragant thyme that reduced the subtlety of the chocolate’s fruity undertones to a mainly earthy and bitter taste. Whatever the case, I disliked this bar, and was glad that I spent less than 2 bucks on it.

After a bit of research around some other chocolate blogs, it seems to be a hit or miss with most people. Try with extreme caution!

Nutritional facts for half the bar (40g) includes 180 calories: 14g fat, 22g carbohydrates, 7g fiber, 2g protein, and 6% iron. Ingredients are unsweetened cocoa, sugar, cocoa butter, dietary fiber (inulin & oligofructose, dextrin), flax seeds, puffed rice, natural thyme flavor, soy lecithin (GMO free), natural vanilla.

On a more positive note, I suppose if you were really caring of your health, you could get your antioxidants from the chocolate, your omega-3s from the flax, and your fiber from the inulin/oligofructose…

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

One Comment
  1. Superb website! Lots of valuable information and facts here. Im sending it to several friends and additionally sharing in delicious. And surely, thank you to your sweat!

Leave a Reply

