Skip to content

Dagoba organic chocolate three ways: roseberry, beaucoup berries, and eclipse

September 24, 2011

Now going back to Dagoba’s because they were on sale at Whole Foods and because I had coupons from the Chinookbook, I bought roseberry (59% cacao), beaucoup berries (74% cacao), and, of course, eclipse (87%).

I’m going to work my way from my least favorite bar, which, not so coincidentally, begins with the bar with the least cacao content: roseberry.

First off, the nutritional information isn’t too shabby, especially for a low-cacao content bar: 270 calories, 20g fat, 31g carbs, 5g fiber, 3g protein, 4% Vitamin C, 2% calcium, and 35% iron. Ingredients are: organic dark chocolate (organic cacao beans, organic cane sugar, organic cacao butter, organic non-gmo soy lecithin); raspberries, rose hips, and organic milk. However, that’s where the good stuff stops.

This bar was much too sweet for my tastes. My own fault for eating such high-cacao content bars all the time, I guess, but I felt that the filling on top of the sweetness of the chocolate was a bit too much. The taste of the rosehip and raspberry very subtly came through, but the most distracting of the components of the bar was that there were a lot of seeds, which interfered with the overall mouthfeel.

Beaucoup berry was my next favorite. Or shall I say, my next least favorite.

Nutritional information includes 250 calories: 19g fat, 27g carb, 7g fiber, 5g protein, 2% calcium, and 50% iron. Ingredients are organic dark chocolate (organic cacao beans, organic cane sugar, organic cocoa, organic non-gmo soy lecithin), organic cherries, organic cranberries, organic natural vanilla extract, and organic milk.

Chocolate was nice and fruity, and the berries came out swimmingly with their sweet accents. However, I felt that I could have derived almost the same enjoyment from popping a dark chocolate covered berry, except that there was slightly more chocolate to this bar than one of those chocolate covered blueberries at Trader Joe’s.

Eclipse was hands-down my favorite.

Nutritionals include 250 calories: 26g fat, 19g carb, 8g fiber, 7g protein, 2% calcium, and 35% iron. Among the ingredients are organic dark chocolate (organic cacao beans, organic cane sugar, organic cocoa, organic non-gmo soy lecithin), and organic milk.

Again, my favorite of the three bars. Though that’s not saying much. Most definitely not my favorite >85% chocolate bar, but definitely unique and the taste was balanced on the palate. When I bit into the bar, my initial thought was that it tasted like trees. Very woody, some spices, making this a good earthy dark chocolate bar. I haven’t tasted anything like this yet, so if you are curious to try a new blend of cacao, go for this bar.

This should hopefully be the last of my Dagoba chocolate tastings since I’ve always been too disappointed in the taste profile each time I have one. If you have a sweet tooth, you might disagree with me on a lot of the points, but as for savory taste-lovers such as myself, we’d rather go for the more high-end bars.

By the way, apologies for the yellow tint to the majority of my chocolate review pictures. I only recently learned how to change the exposure on my camera, but am using up all the pictures I took earlier of the now non-existant bars, so please be patient as I catch up on my current chocolate bar queue. Ciao!

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

2 Comments
  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

  2. I went over this website and I conceive you have a lot of wonderful information, saved to my bookmarks (:.

Leave a Reply

