Skip to content

Scharffen Berger 99% baking bar

September 27, 2011

If I had to have a favorite baking bar, truth be told, it would not be the Scharffen Berger 99%. Based on my personal tastes, which holds a bias toward fruit/wine undertones, Scharffen Berger came off as a disappointment, especially since I kept hearing so many raves about this bar.

That didn’t make this a terrible tasting bar, though. On the contrary, it was a very solid compromise between fruity and earthy. The cacao taste almost overwhelmed me as I continued to consume it. This can be explained by the following nutritional information.

The bar was divided into five blocks, each with 280 calories: 30g fat, 14g carbs, 9g fiber, 8g protein, 2% calcium, and 20% iron. Other 1% of ingredients is vanilla. This bar has a relatively high fat to carbohydrate ratio, which can contribute to a higher intensity of cacao flavor from the higher proportion of cocoa butter.

This bar was pretty thick and smooth, which I understand can go well in a baking bar. Eating the bar was another experience entirely, as biting into the solid chocolate mass was difficult, as it was very thick and not very yielding to my teeth at room temperature. I suppose it really was meant for baking and not direct consumption.

Overall, not a bad bar. Just not quite the $8.99 purchase I was expecting.

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

3 Comments
  1. You made some decent points there. I did a search on the subject and found most persons will go along with with your blog.

  2. Would love to incessantly get updated outstanding web site! .

  3. Definitely, what a fantastic blog and instructive posts, I definitely will bookmark your website.Have an awsome day!

Leave a Reply

