Skip to content

Fried cauliflower rice with Portuguese sausage

October 7, 2011

Today I went to Sprouts Farmer’s Market because they had fresh sausages on sale for $2.99/lb. When I got to the store I found out that they carry linguica, which is another word for Portuguese sausage. I have been sorely missing all the Portuguese sausage I used to eat back home in Hawaii, and considering that Sprouts doesn’t add any preservatives or MSG to their freshly made sausages, I couldn’t resist buying one for about half a pound. Most of the ingredients were spices that were mixed in with the pork, although a small amount of evaporated cane sugar was included on the list.

Although the taste of Sprouts’ fresh Portuguese sausage was quite good when I cooked it, it did not have quite the same taste as the good stuff back home. Guess I’ll have to keep searching!

I incorporated the majority of my Portuguese sausage into my fried cauliflower rice since I’ve been itching to use riced cauliflower in a fried rice recipe. At the beginning of the week I purchased a huge 4 pound head of cauliflower and have been chopping off a few stalks every time I wanted riced cauliflower, and running it through my grater.

I tried cutting and chopping cauliflower into rice before, and it took me ten minutes to just do several small stalks, so the grater has become my greatest friend this week in helping me get the cauliflower into smaller, higher surface-area-exposed pieces. I heard that a food processor or blender would be the easiest alternative to cutting cauliflower into small pieces, but sadly, my blender is quite weak, so I have resorted to a grater.

Since fried rice is typically composed of any leftover meat and vegetables left in the fridge, I also threw in a quarter of a large onion as my aromatic and a cup of fresh parsley as my green “vegetable” from what I could find from the fridge. I also threw in a jumbo beaten egg toward the end of cooking, since it disperses the eggy taste a lot better than frying it before the other ingredients. I probably should have thrown in two, though, since the volume of cauliflower rice I had was larger than anticipated.

The only regret I have about today’s meal was that I didn’t cut the linguica into smaller pieces to disperse the wonderful meaty taste throughout the entire dish. If I had leftover sausages in the fridge instead of fresh, I would have cut it up before frying.

With changes to what I did today, I created a basic recipe below to guarantee delicious fried cauliflower rice. Approximate nutritional values are: 69g fat, 27g carbs, 58g protein, 110% Vitamin A, 315% Vitamin C, 25% calcium, and 50% iron.

Ingredients
1/2 lb cooked sausage
1/2 lb, or 2 cups, raw cauliflower
1 cup parsley (or equivalent amount of carrots, peas, other leftover veggies)
1/4 large onion (or 1/4 cup green onion)
1 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp soy sauce
2 eggs

Directions
(1) Cut up sausage into small 1/2″ pieces. Set aside.
(2) Rice the cauliflower via grater, food processor, blender, or manual chopping method. Set aside.
(3) Dice onion and set aside. Roughly chop parsley and/or other vegetables and set aside.
(4) Heat butter on high heat. When hot, add sausage and onion and cook until the onion browns, about 2 minutes. Add cauliflower and stir for several minutes, until also slightly browned. Turn down heat to medium and add parsley or vegetable if leafy. Stir to combine. If using a non-leafy vegetable, add the vegetable before adding the riced cauliflower. Add soy sauce and stir to combine.
(5) In another bowl, beat 2 eggs together. Pour over the fried rice and stir to incorporate evenly. Cook for a few more minutes until the egg is almost no longer raw. Turn off heat and let sit for a few more minutes. Serve hot!

(Edit on October 15)
By the way, I remade my recipe using the cooked linguica as stated in my recipe, and it did turn out more delicious than the huge chunks. Definitely going to do use pre-cooked versions now.

Dai Dai

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

