Skip to content

Fried cauliflower rice with canned salmon

October 20, 2011

I’ve been on a fried cauliflower rice kick lately. The latest to my collection of random stuff to add to a fried rice is canned salmon.

Most people say that canned salmon straight from the can is dry and tastes too fishy and disgusting. However, I think that once cooked, canned salmon can taste wonderful.

I’ve been buying a lot of Great Value brand of canned Alaskan salmon from Walmart because it’s cheap for $1.98/can, has lots of omega-3’s, and store very easily. Although the Bear & Wolf brand of canned salmon I posted earlier was very surprisingly good for the little amount of fat it contained, it is much pricier since it cost me about the same amount per can, but was 6oz instead of 14oz like Great Value.

Quick rundown on the nutritional profile per can: 630 calories, 35g fat (7g of omega-3s! with negligible amounts of omega-6s), 1890mg sodium, 1470mg potassium, 84g protein, 70% calcium, and 14% iron. In small letters, it also says “Method of Catch: Wild Caught.” What a great healthy food for so little money! It is truly a great value.

But moving onto the fried cauliflower rice, I saute’d the onions with the salmon in butter for a little bit. And of course, added the egg at the end for the yummiest tastes.

I made the recipe with dill only because I was worried that any other vegetables would too drastically change the taste of the final product, and that the dill wouldn’t be able to shine through to complement the salmon well. Other vegetables can be added, but I suggest trying the dill by itself first since it is already a great complementary seasoning to salmon.

Of course, I have a recipe below for those who like concrete directions instead of randomly adding portions of stuff until things taste good.

Ingredients
14oz can of salmon
1/4 large onion
1/2 lb, or 2 cups, raw cauliflower
1 Tbsp dried or fresh dill
1 Tbsp cooking fat
2 Tbsp soy sauce
2 eggs
pepper to taste

Directions
(1) Rice the cauliflower via grater, food processor, blender, or manual chopping method. Set aside.
(2) Dice onion and set aside. Chop any additional vegetables and/or extract fresh dill and set aside.
(3) Heat cooking fat on high and add the can of salmon and onions. Break up the salmon chunks while cooking so that it is adequately broken out like chicken chunks or shreds, but not so much that it becomes mush. Cook until onion browns, about 3 minutes.
(4) If using a non-leafy vegetable, add and cook for several minutes. Add riced cauliflower and stir to combine. Continue cooking until cauliflower becomes slightly browned, about 3 minutes. Turn down heat to medium and add vegetable if leafy. Cook until slightly wilted. Add soy sauce, dill and pepper and stir to combine.
(5) In another bowl, beat 2 eggs together. Pour over the fried rice and stir to incorporate evenly. Cook for a few more minutes until the egg is almost no longer raw. Turn off heat and let sit for a few more minutes. Serve hot!

Dai Dai

2 Comments
  1. Jack permalink

    Before I ran across this recipe, I had assumed this was primarily a
    healthy food site. The many alternative doctors, and healthy food
    preparation experts, that I have followed for several decades
    agree that of the 4 most common ways to cook [stove top, broiling,
    baking, frying], frying was the least healthy — thus just to be avoided.

    I thaw and heat mixed vegetables, then place in a large serving bowl
    [which is my bowl, since I eat alone]. When veggies are almost cool
    enough to eat, I add about 4 ounces of canned salmon, stir, and it is
    immediately cool enough to eat.

    Yes, I heated the salmon, but the can was unopened until removed
    from 35-40*F refrigerator, and was at ~125-135*F for a few seconds.

    Cold salmon to be stored is immediately put in a cold glass container,
    with a tight lid, then returned to refrigerator. I date it, to be sure it is
    used within three days.

    Fresh fish can safely be cooked at 140*F. Frying would almost always
    guarantee it is far above that [about 300* to 400* F].

    On another day, I add ~4 ounces of cold salmon to a large “serving”
    bowl [which is my personal salad bowl] of fresh, mostly organic, salad
    veggies, add cayenne pepper, garlic, and extra virgin olive oil. I call
    this my “one pound salad”, as that is typically the weight.

    I may alter the hot and cold veggie dish routine slightly, by splitting the
    4 oz. salmon between each. I have to apply self discipline, to make the
    ~15 oz. salmon last 4 meals. The $2 GV Wal-Mart Alaskan salmon is so
    good, I have never been tempted to buy a $5 can, The difference would
    double my cost of one full meal.

    • Agreed! Although I have some apprehension about can lining and overall histamines in preserved fish, so I like to just eat fresh fish as often as possible 🙂

Leave a Reply

