Skip to content

Coconut salmon loaf

October 21, 2011

Remember the Walmart brand of salmon?

Well, it’s back, and just as delicious in my own recipe for coconut salmon loaf as it was in my last recipe!

Another wonderful find at the Walmart that I have been frequenting is the coconut cream in the little 200mL cartons. If you calculate the amount of fat in one carton (52g), there’s about 3/4 the amount as a normal can of coconut milk, such as Thai Kitchen. This makes the costs pretty comparable, since the coconut cream costs $0.76 at my Walmart, and Thai Kitchen on sale would cost $1.19 at Whole Foods. Plus, it has a thicker and creamier consistency than regular coconut milk because it is the part of coconut milk that separates from the liquid after sitting in the fridge for several hours (smart tip if you only have coconut milk and wish to thicken it up).

In this product, there are also no added ingredients in the coconut cream other than scant amounts of stabilizing gums, which is a major plus, as well as the fact that I don’t have to worry about BPA leeching into my food. Double plus! Third icing on the cake (loaf?) is that coconut cream is extremely thick, and when used in baking, it decreases the overall baking time compared with coconut milk because there is no need to evaporate the additional liquid. Pretty useful since I get hungry enough as is waiting for my salmon loaf to bake up so that it’s not too soggy. I think about 3/4 of a regular can of coconut milk would also have the same fat content, and therefore similar taste profile.

After dumping a bunch of ingredients in my stainless steel bowl, I mixed and mashed with my hands for a minute or two. Then I smushed it into my oiled foil-wrapped loaf pan and baked. Smelled so good 10 minutes before it came out, and tasted delicious the moment it came out, as well as the day after for leftovers.

Here’s my recipe:

Ingredients
1 Tbsp coconut oil
14 oz canned salmon
1/2 large onion
2 eggs
100mL, or 1/2 cup, of coconut cream (1/2 can of coconut milk works too)
1/2 lemon/lime, juiced
1 Tbsp dill
pepper to taste

Directions
(1) Preheat oven to 350. Line baking pan with foil and oil the sides. If not using foil, just oil sides of pan.
(2) Assemble remaining ingredients in a big bowl and mix by hand for several minutes to incorporate completely.
(3) Fit mixture compactly and evenly into the pan and place in oven to bake for about 45 minutes, until sides start to brown.
(4) Let rest for 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

Mmm, can’t believe something so nutritious can be so delicious!

Dai Dai

One Comment
  1. I am no longer certain where you are getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time finding out much more or working out more. Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this info for my mission. Sorry for bad English. Goodbye from Japan!

Leave a Reply

