Skip to content

Vosges 62% Bacon Bar

November 1, 2011

I’ve always loved the smoky taste of meat, including grilled beef, well-done pulled pork, and rotisserie chicken. Sadly, though, I’ve never really learned to love bacon. I think mainly because the dry texture never really gelled with me in any salad, soup, main course, or even standalone.

With a gourmet Vosges bar, however, I was willing to give it an honest try. I found it at Whole Foods on sale for $5.99, and considering it is a favorite brand among many chocolate lovers, especially because of the bacon bar, I was willing to put down the money.

Nutritional information for the entire 85g bar contains about 400 calories: 30g fat, 35g carbs, 5g fiber, 8g protein, 5% calcium, and 50% iron. Ingredients are dark chocolate (cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), 6.6% uncured fully cooked bacon pieces (pork, water, brown sugar, raw sugar, sea salt, salt, sodium lactate, celery powder, celery juice powder, lactic acid starter culture, spices), and salt.

I opened the bar, and it was very elegantly designed. The chocolate had a nice aroma, and I could detect a hint of smoky meat within. I could not wait to try it, and almost forgot to take a picture before taking a bite.

The wave of chocolate hit me as soon as it landed on my tongue. The makers of the bar paired the taste of chocolate with smoky pork really well, and the sea salt really helped the flavor spring out onto the taste buds. But when the chocolate was all melted and all that was left in my mouth was bacon bits, I, again, had issues with the dry, crumbly texture.

I suppose it would have been a better experience if I just chewed on the entire bar, but as a chocolate-melting-in-my-mouth kind of gal, it was just off-putting after the initial delicious taste. So props on the taste, and a boo on the texture. If they would somehow infuse the flavor of the bacon into the chocolate, I would be all over it. But I was glad I finally tried this bar after longingly looking at it in passing at Whole Foods. I am contemplating buying another bar while they are on sale…stay tuned!

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

