Skip to content

Cranberry turkey meatloaf

December 4, 2011

In late honor of the traditional Thanksgiving meals, I’ve been cooking a lot of turkey lately. Maybe it was due to the fact that it was bothering me that I never actually made any turkey despite eating so much of it during the holidays, but I was on a turkey kick that drove me to use up all my ground turkey in the freezer after all the leftovers were eaten. This was also great in helping me clear my freezer out of any residual junk I purchased in the past, such as my pound of frozen cranberries.

I found out the hard way that the fiber in cranberries are hard on my digestive system in the same way as raw carrots. This meant that I actually had to cook them in some way to render them digestible and not give me that odd, bloated feeling. And what does the cranberry go well with? Turkey.


So here are some of my defrosted cranberries freshly chopped. They really have a wonderful color, and I was excited that I was about to ingest a bunch of Vitamin C and antioxidants since real berry season pretty much ended.

I had to steep them in some sweetener to make them more palatable, though. They’re quite sour, and the sour-only taste doesn’t quite go well with savory goods the way I like them.

Making the turkey loaf was easy enough. It was looking very bright and colorful when I was just about to pop it into the oven. The frozen 97/3 turkey patties from Costco I found only have to be defrosted in the fridge for half a day.

This loaf makes a great post-workout snack since it’s on the low in fat side and gets you a lot of protein at once. Which is what I made of it after baking.

Ingredients
1/2 cup frozen or fresh cranberries
2 Tbsp sugar worth of sweetener
1 lb ground turkey
1 egg
1/2 onion
2 cloves garlic
1 tsp dried rosemary
salt and pepper to taste (about 1/4 tsp each for me)

Directions
(1) Steep the fresh cranberries in sweetener for 2-3 hours by mixing 1/2 cup of water with the cranberries and sweetener.
(2) Chop onions and mince garlic. Then combine with other ingredients and mix well.
(3) Bake in a 9×5″ loaf pan at 350 degrees for 40 minutes, or when meat has shrunk from the sides of the pan. Internal thermometer temperature should be around 160 degrees F.
(4) Let cool before serving.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

