Skip to content

Turkey meatballs with cranberry sauce

December 6, 2011

Next on my turkey-cranberry craze is turkey meatballs in cranberry sauce. I usually don’t like recipes that utilize both the oven and stove because I hate waiting around for one of them to finish when the other is freshly made and in the queue to get mixed together. This one, however, had perfect timing, which piqued my interest.

I made my own turkey meatballs with egg, turkey, onion, garlic, salt, and pepper. All the recipes for baked ground turkey kind of start melding together and forming the same basic mixture in similar proportions, so I just made my own.

Ever since I found out cranberries host a plethora of antioxidants, I’ve been trying to incorporate them into my diet, especially since they’re sour instead of sweet like most fruit, which I really like. There is some importance to having organic cranberries, however, since cranberries do attract a great deal of insects and pathogens naturally, leading to high pesticide use, so I think the extra 20% on price is worth it for organic.

Apparently 1/4 lb, or 1 cup, of fresh cranberries have 13 carbs and 5g fiber, which is really, really good for a fruit. In that same serving size, there is also 25% Vitamin C, 7% each of Vitamin E and K (which I think many people tend to neglect), 20% manganese, and a whole source of phytonutrients that work together to keep the body healthy, which is explained in some detail on World’s Healthiest Foods.

I made the cranberry sauce while the meatballs were cooking up. It was really easy to manage because if it ever got too dry before I could finish with the meatballs, I would add more water to the reduction. This happened to me once, only because I underestimated the amount of water needed the first time around.

I don’t like browning my lower fat content ground turkey since it gets pretty dry fast, so I left it just-broiled in the oven before throwing into the pan with the cranberry mixture. Then I just cooked the meatballs and sauce together long enough so that the sauce adhered nicely to the meatball. I honestly thought this recipe beat a lot of roast turkey + cranberry combinations I’ve had in the past. The moistness of the meatballs was a huge plus.

Ingredients
1 lb ground turkey
4 cloves garlic
1/2 small onion
1 egg
salt and pepper to taste (I used about 1/4 tsp each)
1/2 lb fresh or frozen cranberries
1/2 cup water
1 Tbsp of sugar worth of sweetener
1 Tbsp lemon juice and 1 Tbsp of its zest, if available
1 bay leaf

Directions
(1) Mince garlic and chop onions. Mix turkey, garlic, onion, egg, salt, and pepper together and form into round balls. Place on baking sheet lined with foil.
(2) Set oven to high broil and broil on each side for 4 minutes, or until browned to taste. Flip the meatballs when the first side is cooked and broil another 4 minutes or until browned to taste.
(3) Meanwhile, add cranberries, water, sweetener, lemon, and bay leaf in a pan and boil until sauce starts to thicken. Add extra water if necessary in case the meatballs do not finish broiling.
(4) When meatballs are finished, add to the cranberry sauce and stir to coat. Cook all of the contents in the pan for an extra 10 minutes, until sauce gets extremely thick.
(5) Serve warm over or with something mildly flavored, since the cranberry sauce is quite strong.

Bon appetit!

Dai Dai

One Comment
  1. you should post more often great read, also like the layout of the blog.

Leave a Reply

