Skip to content

Nonholiday turkey meatloaf

December 10, 2011

In an attempt to get rid of my remaining pound of ground turkey, I made a normal turkey meatloaf since I ran out of cranberries. This one is pretty simple, but it looks a lot like a holiday meatloaf with all the red and green colors.


Mixing this was really cold, since I didn’t defrost it in the fridge and mixed it with my bare hands. I ran the meat under cold water for 5-10 minutes, but it didn’t help too much. Since my meat was also already separated into burger portions, they spread out a lot and I was scared of losing too much of it down the sink.

Due to the turkey being too cold, I think it separated too easily with the egg, which amounted to a steamed egg concoction on top of my turkey loaf…oh well.


Since the egg didn’t get a chance to mix in with all the meat, as well as the fact that the turkey was extremely watery when I put it in the loaf pan, I ended up with a pretty loosely-packed loaf. It was still delicious, though.

Ingredients
1 lb ground turkey
1 egg
2 cloves garlic
1/2 medium onion
1/2 bell pepper
1/2 cup of parsley
salt and pepper to taste (I used 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper)

Directions
(1) Mince garlic and parsley and chop up onion and bell pepper.
(2) Combine all ingredients into a large bowl and mix thoroughly. It is easier to accomplish this by mixing by hand. Add mixture to a 9×5″ loaf pan.
(3) Heat oven to 375 degrees F and bake for 45 minutes, or until the meat is cooked thoroughly to the center.

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

One Comment
  1. Hey! I extremely like your website. I like this post. I hope you don’t mind when I post it to my Digg bookmarks.

Leave a Reply

