Skip to content

Easy and delicious roasted carrots

December 25, 2011

One small mistake I made at Costco the other day was being tempted into buying a 10 pound bag of organic carrots for $4.59. I was excited to see organic carrots so cheap, and thought that I could nibble on a few every night for my serving of vegetables. It turned out that my digestive system hates raw carrots, and if I eat more than one, I get really nauseous and gassy for a long period of time before the carrots fully digest. Turns out I can’t digest the fiber favorably, which rules out any raw form of large amounts of carrot.

Enter the roasted carrot recipe from Ina Garten. I roughly followed the recipe, since exact measurements are just troublesome for dish-washing and a huge time suck, but for the most part adhered to the recipe.

To hasten the cooking process, I increased the surface area of all the chopped carrot pieces by cutting as diagonal as I could for each of the carrots. This involved placing my knife blade almost vertical down the length of the carrot versus cutting horizontally to make the carrots into inch-and-a-half blocky cylinders. My knife skills need refining and my blade some sharpening, but somehow my mom has always been able to cut them more thinly, leading to a faster cooking time. Time to experiment around!

I tossed the carrots with extra virgin olive oil, chopped fresh organic parsley, and salt and pepper. My pan sheet was pretty tiny, so I could only accommodate about three carrots worth into the oven at a time per baking apparatus (I used a cake baking pan to make a similar batch).

This recipe effectively helped me consume more than three carrots a day, increasing my vegetable consumption, as well as reducing the amount of limp carrots I would potentially have in the fridge later on. Especially since these tasted almost like sweet potatoes, I had this for almost a week for each meal. That’s how good this recipe was.

Ingredients
3 whole carrots
4 sprigs of fresh parsley (or 2 T dried parsley)
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions
(1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with foil.
(2) Slice carrots diagonally and chop parsley.
(3) Add both to a bowl with olive oil, salt and pepper. Toss to incorporate.
(4) Empty everything inside the bowl onto the baking sheet. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, or until the carrots begin to brown.
(5) Cool before serving.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

One Comment
  1. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already šŸ˜‰ Cheers!

Leave a Reply

