Skip to content

Roast lamb with rosemary and garlic

January 14, 2012

If there exists a common meat that I love more than beef, it is lamb. I normally don’t comb Costco for meats, since most of it is completely grain-fed, but I decided to look last weekend to see if that changed. Imagine my surprise when I found an entire Australian boneless lamb leg for $6/lb, sitting near the beef. A quick web search showed that the same leg is even cheaper in non-Silicon-Valley locations, if I ever travel elsewhere, and the lamb is grass-fed and grain-finished for the last 30 days. Good enough for me.

It came wrapped in red netting, which is useful if I planned on stuffing the inside of the lamb with herbs and spices. I chose not to because 1) I am lazy, and 2) I love rare meat, and more slits would mean more surface area to cook. I left that alone and just slathered my meat with lime juice, salt, pepper, chopped garlic, and rosemary.

The saddest part for me was the wait. I had to wait a little more than an hour for my lamb to cook, and an extra 10 minutes for it to rest outside of the oven for easy cutting. My pieces were cut pretty thickly because of the dullness of my Chinese butcher knife. If my knife were sharper, I would have been able to cut it into even thinner pieces.


This rare baby (literally?) tasted absolutely wonderful. I ate it for 3 days straight for all my meals, and I did not get tired of it. I used some of it as ingredients in other recipes, while the rest was laid atop a bed of cooked spinach to be consumed after a quick reheat in the microwave or stove. I highly believe this was a great investment of time and money. Time to scope my area for cheaper and entirely grass-fed cuts.

Ingredients
1 lamb leg, about 5 pounds
1 large lime
1 bulb of garlic
1/4 cup fresh or dried rosemary
1 Tbsp salt
1 Tbsp black pepper

Directions
(1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
(2) Juice the lime, chop the garlic, and portion out the spices and set aside.
(3) Place the lamb leg in a shallow baking dish, and rub with lime juice. Pack on the garlic and rosemary as best as possible, and finish by patting on the salt and pepper.
(4) Place the lamb in the oven and roast for 30 minutes.
(5) Reduce baking temperature to 350 degrees and roast for an extra 45 minutes for rare, and 60 minutes for medium-rare for a 5lb leg. Add 10 minutes for every pound over 5 pounds, or subtract 10 minutes for every pound under 5 pounds.
(6) After roasting, take lamb out of oven and rest for at least 10 minutes.
(7) Slice into pieces and serve.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

2 Comments
  1. Oh my, yes! lamb is my favourite meat by a long chalk. This looks fantastic. There really is nothing quite like a good hunk of roasted lamb with a good blob of mint sauce.

Leave a Reply

