Skip to content

Scotch quail eggs

February 11, 2012

I’ve seen a few recipes on several bloggers’ sites in the past month that contained recipes for scotch eggs. I was getting tired of eating my ground beef stir fried with different vegetables, so I thought I would give the scotch eggs a shot. Except I did it my style: with quail eggs.

These are universal in all Chinese supermarkets. They usually come in packs of 10 in small plastic containers, and cost about a dollar each. An Asian friend once told me that one quail egg has the same nutritional content of one chicken egg, but after some research online, I found that 100g of quail eggs had almost the same nutritional content of chicken eggs. The quail egg had only slightly more vitamin and mineral content, such as 263mg of choline versus the 251mg in chicken egg, or the 540IU of Vitamin A versus the 487IU in chicken eggs. Some of the values might even be the same anyway, due to rounding errors. The only significant difference between the two was that quail eggs had twice the amount of cholesterol in a 100g serving than chicken eggs: 844mg to 423mg.

I’ve always preferred quail eggs to chicken eggs by a long shot because of the superior flavor of the egg yolk. Plus, they’re also very cute. It does get annoying to have to shell each tiny egg as opposed to large chicken eggs, though.

My meat mixture was comprised of ground beef, a regular egg, chopped onion, chopped fresh parsley, about a half Tbsp of dried Italian seasoning, and salt and pepper. The herbs can definitely be left up to experimentation, though.

After assembling the meat mixture, I flattened small chunks of it in my hand between my palms, placed the egg on top, and covered the eggs all the way around with the meat mixture. The meatball was extremely large, which made me question how many scotch eggs I would have been able to eat if I was using chicken eggs instead. Good thing I get to eat more with smaller quail eggs!

I used ground beef, but ground pork and/or poultry would work just as well.

Ingredients
10-15 quail eggs, depending on how thinly the meat is wrapped
1 lb ground beef/pork/poultry
1 chicken egg
1/2 onion
1/4 cup of assorted fresh herbs, or 2 Tbsp of dried herbs
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions
(1) Add quail eggs to a pot and add water. After water comes to a boil, turn off the stove and let sit for 5 minutes. Drain and add the eggs to cold water. When cooled, peel all the eggs and add to a bowl.
(2) Chop onions and parsley. Add it to a large mixing bowl along with the ground meat, chicken egg, herbs, salt, and pepper. Mix well.
(3) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
(4) Begin making the scotch eggs by taking a sizable chunk of meat and flattening it between the hands. Place an egg on top and form the meat mixture around the egg until completely covered. Place on baking sheet and repeat the process until all the meat mixture is used.
(5) Place the baking sheet in the oven and bake until the meat browns, about 20 minutes.
(6) Cool before serving.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

8 Comments
  1. i’m making these tonight!! i just bought quail eggs at the store for the first time. $8 for a tiny little carton but i just had to have them!

    • Cool! Hope you like the recipe! 🙂

      • absolutely AWESOME, dai dai! the eggs were a pain to peel since they are so damn small, but the finished product is so worth it. i made 12 really big scotch eggs but could’ve made 15 eggs if i cooked that many. i ended up using 1 tbsp of italian seasoning and 1 tbsp of 21 seasoning salute. the flavor is insane. if you haven’t tried that seasoning, trader joe’s sells it.

      • I’m glad it turned out a success! Did you plunge the eggs in cold water before peeling? That may help with the peeling a bit.

      • yeah, i put them in cold water for about 10 minutes. i have very long nails so i kept puncturing the whites haha normal size eggs aren’t as delicate as these little buggers.

      • Ah. Well I hope your long fingers don’t deter you from making these again! 🙂

      • actually, i’m making them for my grandma’s birthday party! my mom and sister tried them and went nuts over them. it’s on groundhog’s day and i think it would be funny to serve them on mashed potatoes to make it look like the groundhog sticking it’s head out of the snow. i would do spinach if the grass was visible outside haha

      • Cute idea! I’m glad everyone else enjoyed these as well. Let me know if you ever try a variation you’d like to share!

Leave a Reply

