Skip to content

Cauliflower rice sushi

February 16, 2012

I wanted to try something creative with my cauliflower rice, so I thought, hey, I should make cauliflower rice for sushi since lots of people online are using it to make sushi! But what I found on other people’s blogs were misleading. The rice fell out all over the rolls, and when I cut it, half of the filling would fall out.

So what makes stuff stick together without having taste or gluten? Oh yeah, egg whites. So when I fried up my rice, I added some egg whites to the mixture, and it came out a LOT easier to handle.

This was a very messy process without a sushi roller to help. My main filling was wild-caught Alaskan salmon, thawed after being frozen. Apparently if you buy frozen salmon and let thaw to eat raw, it may be more hygienic than buying “fresh” salmon that might have been sitting too long in the grocery store case. I packed some avocado slices around it. I’ve never been a huge fan of cucumber in sushi, so I left it out. Ingredients are subject to one’s own taste, though.

My second batch of cauliflower rice sushi came out better than the first for obvious reasons. I am still fine-tuning the exact amount of egg white, but will edit later for the most optimal ratios.

Ingredients
1 lb or about 5 cups cauliflower
2 egg whites
1/2 Tbsp rice vinegar (the white kind)
4 large nori sheets
1 lb raw salmon
2 large avocados

Directions
(1) Cut cauliflower into florets and grate/blend/chop until size of rice grains.
(2) Cook cauliflower rice by microwaving for 2 minutes in a large bowl or sauteing in pan for 3 minutes, until almost fully cooked. Add in egg whites and microwave/cook additional minute, until egg white firms up. Add rice vinegar and mix thoroughly. Leave in a bowl to cool.
(3) Cut salmon into 3/4-inch strips. Slice avocado lengthwise into long strips as well.
(4) Place a nori sheet on a flat surface. Add the cooled cauliflower rice onto the bottom 1/3 of the entire strip. Place salmon and avocado strips horizontally on top of the rice. Roll it up into a long cylinder and slice into sushi pieces.
(5) Repeat with the other nori wraps. Serve immediately or chill for later.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

4 Comments
  1. Ooh I like the idea of lower-carb sushi!

    • Yup! Sushi is not too bad in terms of carb content, but this is just a hack way to get in more protein from being able to eat more of the fish.

  2. I make these all the time but I use Spaghetti Squash instead of cauliflower! Works quite well too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

