Skip to content

Homemade unsweetened chocolate truffles

March 13, 2012

If you’re a ridiculous chocoholic like I am, chances are you probably ate a 100% or 99% cacao bar at some point in your life. I love the taste of cacao so much that I snack on it regularly, outside of once-in-a-while 80% specialty bar or something similar. I’ve been tiring of the 100% Ghirardelli bars I normally eat lately, and tried to make truffles with them instead, which means adding some lovely coconut flavor. I found a solid recipe from Nom Nom Paleo, although I was too lazy to heat the coconut milk separately and decided to microwave everything instead.

I added some solidified coconut oil. Shortly afterward I also added some coconut cream.

Then I microwaved the bunch in my bowl for about a minute and a half, until the chocolate was 50-60% melted. I allowed the residual heat in the melted portion to melt the rest of the chocolate pieces, and stirred with the coconut to get a paste.

I let sit in the refrigerator to firm up and absorb the flavors overnight. It was absolutely, absolutely the most delicious thing I’ve ever tasted. Sweetener can be added as desired.

Unfortunately I have no pictures, as I ate them before I got a chance. Also I left it as a blob of chocolate in my bowl instead of forming them properly, so I don’t think that picture would have been much more exciting than my pre-refrigeration picture. Hopefully I will update with nice pictures next time I make this except in truffle form.

Ingredients
50g pure baking chocolate
1 Tbsp coconut oil
2 Tbsp coconut cream/milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions
(1) Break up chocolate into pieces, or even better, chop into small pieces. Transfer to a bowl.
(2) Add coconut oil, coconut cream, and vanilla extract to the chocolate. Microwave until chocolate is halfway melted, about 1 and a half minute.
(3) Stir until mixture is fully melted and incorporated. Add sweetener if desired. Form into balls and dust with shredded coconut, sea salt, or cocoa. Put in refrigerator or freezer to harden.
(4) Let sit in room temperature before consuming.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Huh, I’ve never made truffles with coconut milk before. Interesting.

    • Yup, I think it tastes much better because it really does get that particular truffle flavor. Also I think the liquid helps the texture of the truffle to not become a solid block of chocolate after solidifying.

Leave a Reply

