Skip to content

Japanese sweet potato

March 23, 2012

There have been way too many times I go over my food budget because I like to buy too much chocolate. Other times, it’s due to my preferences for certain foods. One of my favorite sources of workout fuel is the purple sweet potato. Unfortunately for me, these purple sweet potatoes cost $1.79/lb at the cheapest source I could find them, whereas the way-to-sweet orange variety is $0.49/lb. Conundrum? That’s where my middle ground meets – Japanese sweet potatoes.

These bad boys are usually sold as extremely huge tubers, with one sweet potato weighing at least half a pound. I buy them far cheaper than the purple sweet potato at $0.69/lb, but they’re definitely not as overwhelmingly sweet and mushy like the Western orange variety. There are no anthocyanins, but it’s not a big deal that I make the substitute every once in a while. And they’re great for those who love sweet potatoes, but don’t want to turn orange from the over-nutricity of Vitamin A. They may be a little more starchy and less sweet-tasting, but that means it’s slightly better for glycogen replenishment than regular Western sweet potatoes.

So with the same cooking methods as the purple sweet potato, I prepare several at a time to save up for later, since they’re easily stowed into the refrigerator for up to even a week without problems.

The Japanese sweet potato has a pretty prominent chestnut (not water chestnut) flavor, which is definitely more different than the other sweet potatoes I’ve ever tried. It’s a bit stringy in the interior, but it’s not a big detractor from the overall firm texture, depending on how well it’s cooked. I’m currently trying to stop using the microwave, so I use the easiest method and throw it in a rice cooker to boil until fully cooked, about 40 minutes. That way, I can focus on cooking my other dishes and everything will be finished by the time the sweet potatoes are ready.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

