Skip to content

Shrimp with coconut flakes

April 8, 2012

Coconut flakes are awesome. I regularly eat them as snacks because they’re cheap and taste amazing. It also helps that I love the taste of coconut, too.

I’ve been thinking about making something similar to the walnut shrimp that can be found at any Chinese restaurant. The dish includes tempura-fried shrimp covered in mayo alongside some glazed, fried walnuts. Not the healthiest-sounding, but definitely delicious. I tried to replicate the shrimp portion with my coconut flakes to create a mayonnaise/tempura-like coating.

This mixture was basically my tempura/mayo coating for the shrimp, which included coconut flakes, an egg, a shallot, and salt, which was all whipped together in my food processor.

The final result ended up tasting similar to the salmon loaf that I made last year, with the seafood taste combining with coconut, sulfurous veggie, and citrus. As this was my first trial run of the dish and not really knowing how it would turn out, I found that the coconut flakes were too hard and brittle for my expectations of a soft, crunchy exterior for the shrimp. Next time I find a bag of shrimp on sale to make this recipe again, I will use softer, finely shredded coconut instead.

Ingredients
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1 shallot
1 egg
1/4 tsp salt
1 lb raw shrimp
1 Tbsp cooking fat (I used butter)
1 lime

Directions
(1) Combine the coconut, shallot, egg, and salt in a food processor and blend until it becomes a paste. Set aside.
(2) Heat cooking fat in pan on high. Add shrimp and cook on medium until shrimp turn slightly pink, for 1-2 minutes per side.
(3) Add the coconut mixture with the shrimp and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes, until shrimp are thoroughly cooked.
(4) Remove from heat and juice the lime over the dish. Stir to incorporate and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

