Skip to content

Easy sweet potato mash

May 14, 2012

My go-to starch for the past few months has been the sweet potato. Hard to believe, but I finally got tired of eating them one-by-one after some easy boiling, and for the past week, I poked around online for some inspiration.

I came across many tropical versions of Western mashed potato recipes that were intended for dessert, which included coconut milk and sugar. I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try just adding coconut oil to a bunch of boiled sweet potatoes, just as how I add some to rice before cooking.

So I went ahead and boiled the sweet potatoes until very tender. I mixed in a Western orange sweet potato with my three Asian yellow ones to bring nutrients into the mix without the entire thing tasting nasty (not a big fan of orange sweet potatoes…too sweet!).

I peeled the sweet potatoes shortly after they were boiled, but peeling isn’t really too necessary, especially if one is concerned about preserving sense of touch in the fingertips… After briefly mashing the mixture with my wooden spatula, I spooned some coconut oil into the pile and mixed it in thoroughly.

The end result was a beautifully colored sweet potato mash that contained hints of coconut in every bite. Sometimes a bit of oil can really go a long way.

Ingredients
1 lb of sweet potatoes
1 Tbsp coconut oil
salt to taste

Directions
(1) Add sweet potatoes to a pot and add water to cover the sweet potatoes halfway. Bring water to a boil and simmer on medium for an additional 30-40 minutes, or until pierced extremely easily by a fork.
(2) Peel the sweet potatoes and add to a large bowl. Mash the potatoes and add the coconut oil and salt. Continue mashing the sweet potatoes until the coconut oil is well-incorporated.
(3) Serve warm.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

