Skip to content

Sauteed zucchini noodles

June 7, 2012

One of the popular trends online lately have been zucchini noodles. I don’t blame people for jumping on the wagon. Zucchini is a very healthy vegetable, and it beats bland, boring, and nutritionally-void pasta any day.

So here’s my obligatory post on simply sauteed zucchini noodles.

To make zucchini noodles, many people are buying julienne peelers from expensive brand names and paying over $10. Well here’s my little secret. I get mine from the Chinese supermarket. And it costs $2.

Not sure why it’s so cheap though. It’ll probably rust in a year, but by then the craze will be over and the novelty gone, and I can just throw it away without any remorse. But for now…zucchini noodles for dinner!

The noodles are kind of hard to peel once the center with all the seeds is reached. I just avoid peeling the center and don’t risk getting mushy noodles this way. I like to serve up the center as a side dish sliced with other vegetables to avoid waste.

I sauteed up my noodles with some grass-fed ground beef. I dislike separating ground beef into really tiny ground because all the fat and flavor gets lost onto the pan and the ground beef gets really dry and tasteless. To rectify that, I just divide the chunk of beef in the pan with my spatula into smaller meatball sizes, and they turn out delicious and juicy. The zucchini still get plenty of flavor and I get my meat whole.

Ingredients
1 lb ground beef
2 large zucchinis, about 3/4 lb
1/2 onion (or 3 cloves garlic works as well)
salt and pepper to taste (I used about 1/8 tsp each)

Directions
(1) Julienne the zucchini into noodles.
(2) Add ground beef to a pan on medium-high and saute until halfway pink. Add onions and brown with the beef.
(3) When onions are translucent, add zucchini noodles and continue to cook for a minute. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve warm!

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

