Skip to content

Parsley celery salad

August 1, 2012

I’m always searching for a good side to go with my regular post-workout chunk of meat and leftover rice for dinner. Since I like short and easy sides to go with my short and easy pan-fried or broiled meat, I usually can’t get too creative unless I want to be stuck chopping up 10 different vegetables for a rounded salad, or braising a rack’s worth of spices with some chopped vegetables for hours on end. By then, I would be starving.

Enter this recipe. I had it bookmarked for the longest time, but when I finally made it due to the ingredients being fortuitously available in my fridge, I couldn’t get enough of it, and went out of my way for several days to buy the ingredients necessary for making it. It was that good.

The best way to take the bite out of any sharp onion flavor is to soak it in some sort of liquid. In this case, the onion is soaked in water, but I’ve also had great success soaking it in the acid that will go into the salad.

I also used more parsley than the original recipe because the stuff’s incredibly healthy and I like the peppery taste.

Ingredients
1/2 onion
4 sprigs parsley
4 stalks celery
1 lemon
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions
(1) Slice the onions into crescents, and cut the crescents in half. Soak in large bowl of water for about 10 minutes.
(2) Roughly chop the parsley and cut the celery into smaller pieces.
(3) Drain the onion and add the parsley and celery to it. Juice the lemon and add the juice to the mixture. Add olive oil and black pepper to the salad and stir well.
(4) Let sit for half an hour before serving.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

