Skip to content

General Tso’s chicken

September 30, 2012

More often than I’d like to admit, I get cravings for Chinese food. I’m not talking about healthy chicken stir fries with bok choy, either. Sometimes I really want me some fried lemon chicken or fried fish with sour sauce. Luckily, this General Tso’s chicken recipe was enough to fill my craving and cause me to believe in food tasting amazingly like Chinese restaurant quality without having to also give into the bad oils and breading.

Of course, I made some edits to the original recipe. I don’t normally keep tomato paste on hand, but I do have a grape tomato plant! I popped a few of those into the recipe, and it turned out great, even though I didn’t pre-cook the tomatoes.

I also replaced some of the ingredients in the recipe to make things easier based on what I had in the pantry. I used an egg instead of 2 egg whites, red wine instead of Chinese wine, and chili pepper powder instead of the flakes.

I also avoided frying the entire batch of chicken in the recommended 2-3 cups of palm oil. A quick pan-fry worked just as effectively, although I had to constantly replace the oil because the tapioca starch would cloud the solution and make the pieces start to burn. It was still worth it because I didn’t want to use up my $7 jar of coconut oil on just frying the entire recipe.

I’d say this was a very successful recipe, and I will be making this again.

Ingredients
2 lbs chicken breast
5 Tbsp tamari soy sauce
2 Tbsp red wine
1 egg
4 large grape tomatoes
2 Tbsp rice vinegar
1.5 tsp red chili powder
4 tablespoons honey
3 cups, or 1 lb, of tapioca flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
4-8 Tbsp of cooking oil
1 Tbsp garlic powder

Directions
(1) Cut chicken into 1″ bite-sized pieces. Add to a large bowl with 2 Tbsp of the tamari soy sauce, red wine, and egg. Toss to coat evenly, and leave in the bowl for over 10 minutes.
(2) Meanwhile, mince the tomato into smaller pieces. Mix up the sauce ingredients, which include the remaining 3 Tbsp of tamari soy sauce, the tomatoes, the rice vinegar, 1/2 tsp of chili pepper powder, honey, and a Tbsp or so of the tapioca flour.
(3) In a final bowl, add tapioca flour with the salt and black pepper and mix well.
(4) Prepare a baking sheet lined with paper towels. Heat up a pan on medium-high heat and add 1-2 Tbsp of cooking oil.
(5) Coat a large amount of chicken with the tapioca flour and add to the pan. Let cook on one side until the side is visibly fried, about 3-5 minutes. Flip each piece over and continue to cook another 2-3 minutes, until completely fried-looking.
(6) Remove the chicken pieces to the baking sheet, clean the pan, and add the next batch of oil. Continue cooking chicken in this fashion until all the pieces have been cooked.
(7) Heat up a final Tbsp of cooking fat on medium-high and add the garlic powder and 1 tsp of chili powder. Fry until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the sauce mixture, and stir for another 2 minutes, or until thickened.
(8) Add all the chicken to the pan and stir quickly to coat. Turn off the heat and transfer to a large serving bowl. Enjoy with rice.

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

