Skip to content

Kale chips

December 26, 2012

Like owe-mai-gawd, it’s another kale chips recipe!

This is really for my own documentation than anything else, but I finally got off my lazy butt and sought out some dinosaur kale, which has flat leaves, versus the typical kale I buy that has curly leaves. The flat leaves make the kale easier to bake evenly to make kale chips, so that half of my chips don’t end up soggy when the other half crisp up.

Kale chips

I actually just use the really lazy way of preparation. I shake the leaves really well of water, and then cut them into rough 2″ by 2″ pieces, with the stem pieces a little smaller. I then add it to my baking dish, liberally top with oil and some salt and pepper, then toss right in the oven. That way I don’t have to clean up another bowl.

Kale chips

These are seriously addicting. They have the perfect crunchy texture of really crispy potato chips, but have an amazing taste. I could easily not consume a bag of chips sitting around my house, but these kale chips are really something else! Good thing they are so healthy! And cheap to make at home compared to the bagged kind that would cost five times as much for the same amount of kale.

Ingredients
1/4 lb kale leaves
1 Tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste, a few dashes of each will do

Directions
(1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
(2) Rinse kale and dry well of water. Chop into rough 2″ by 2″ pieces, allowing the stem pieces to be a bit smaller, about 1″ by 2″.
(3) Toss kale pieces in a baking dish with the oil and salt and pepper, mixing well.
(4) Bake in the oven until the pieces crisp up, about 10 minutes.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

