Skip to content

Seaweed salad

January 1, 2013

Arguably one of the healthiest vegetables out there, seaweed makes a very good appetizer. I personally think that it has contributed positively to my general health growing up, since I wasn’t a HUGE fan of vegetables, but loved mushrooms and seaweed to no end. Now, I get pretty paranoid about my seaweed and only buy the brands from Japan or Korea. “Product of PROC” is totally a turn-off, although easily identifiable through its comparatively cheaper price.

DSCN1260
While I like using dried seaweed for soups or to randomly flake into my rice like furikake, I like to take the fresher, bagged version to make salad, usually using wakame. My favorite dressing is basically the same one that I use for my napa cabbage salad.

DSCN1259

Ingredients
1 lb fresh seaweed
2 tsp fresh ginger or 1 tsp ground ginger
2 cloves fresh garlic or 1/2 Tbsp garlic powder
2 Tbsp rice vinegar
1 Tbsp tamari soy sauce
2 Tbsp olive or sesame oil
1 Tbsp honey
1 stalk green onion

Directions
(1) Rinse seaweed in a large bowl full of water. Rapidly shake inside the water several times, replacing the water 2-3 times. Let sit in water for 30 minutes to release the extra salt.
(2) Chop the ginger, garlic, and green onion. When the seaweed is rinsed and is not overly salty, add the ginger and garlic to the seaweed.
(3) Add rice vinegar, soy sauce, oil, and honey to the seaweed. Mix very thoroughly so that the flavors combine.
(4) Garnish with green onion and serve.

Enjoy, and Happy New Year!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Joyful Fig permalink

    This looks really yummy! I could never figure out what to put on seaweed (love the stuff), but this sounds great.

    • Thank you! Yeah, finding recipes for seaweed is as easy as finding new, edible recipes for liver ;D

Leave a Reply

