Skip to content

Apple coconut flour muffins

February 10, 2013

Next up in my series of coconut flour muffins is apple. Truth be told, I cannot resist apple concoctions. Apple is actually not one of my favorite flavors, like lemon and chocolate, but I cannot ignore apple desserts as easily as I can lemon or chocolate ones. So after I baked these muffins, they were gone immediately thereafter. Good thing the recipe only makes two!

Apple muffins

As a side note, I usually buy my coconut flour at Whole Foods in the bulk bins. I wish I could say the same thing about every other ingredient, but most of the stuff isn’t usually sold in bulk, and if they were, like the honey, it wasn’t to my best interest to buy due to locality issues.

Below is the recipe for 2 medium-sized muffins that fit about 1/4 cup worth of filling. Scale size as needed.

Ingredients
1 Tbsp coconut oil
1 Tbsp honey, or equivalent in other sweetener
1 egg
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 small apple, about 3 Tbsp
2 Tbsp coconut flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch salt

Directions
(1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
(2) Melt the coconut oil if necessary and cream with honey.
(3) Mix in the egg and vanilla extract.
(4) Sift together coconut flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt, and add the dry mixture to the wet mixture, enough to incorporate the ingredients, but not overmixing.
(5) Finely chop the apple into small pieces and fold into batter.
(6) Spoon the batter into a medium-sized muffin pan, each holding about 1/4 cup worth of filling.
(7) Bake in the oven for about 25-30 minutes, until the outside of the muffins are barely browned, or if a toothpick comes out clean.
(8) Cool 5-10 minutes before consuming. The longer the sit, the better it tastes.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. These look great!!! The honey in the bulk section of my whole foods/the others in the area is actually local honey that a lady brings in from her bee farm. I wonder if that option is there for you?

    I’d probably add soooo much cinnamon to these 🙂

    • Thanks! I like to add a little more cinnamon too, but I figured I’d dial it back in the actual posted recipe for more normal tastes xD

      My Whole Foods carries honey from somewhere else in the country, I think from Oregon. I just go to a local grocery and pick up my honey that way.

      I like your username 😛 I was a fan of DBZ when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

