Skip to content

Sauteed potatoes with onions and fenugreek

March 21, 2013

At the Asian produce at the farmer’s market, I came across fenugreek bunches. Figuring they were similar to watercress, I bought them, only to find out that the stalks are very difficult to chew and digest, similar to amaranth leaves.

Instead of taking all the bitter leaves and sauteing or steaming, like what I do with watercress, I used them as flavoring for my sauteed potatoes and onions, because I found the bitterness to be too much on its own. Usually I combine the potatoes and onions with a dried herb, such as rosemary or Italian seasoning, but I had to use this combination due to the fact that it was fresh produce that I did not want to steam and eat on its own.

Sauteed potatoes

Despite its bitter flavor, the fenugreek ended up making an amazing flavor enhancement for my post-workout carb loading.

By the way, a brief internet search shows me that it’s an Indian or Ethiopian ingredient. Not a terrible fan of either cuisines, so it does good for me in this dish.

Ingredients
1/4 tsp salt
1 Tbsp of cooking fat (I use coconut oil)
1 lb potatoes
1 large onion
6-8 stalks of fenugreek leaves
salt and pepper to tast

Directions
(1) Peel potatoes if desired.
(2) Heat the fat and salt on medium-high in a large cast iron pan.
(3) While pan heats, cut the potatoes into 1/2″ cubes and dice onions. Pull off the leaves of the fenugreek from the stalks.
(4) When the pan is sufficiently hot, add the potatoes and onions on the bottom, leaving the fenugreek along the top.
(5) Turn heat to medium-low and cook for 5 minutes.
(6) Uncover, and mix ingredients in the pan more thoroughly using the spatula. Cover and cook for another 5 minutes, or until potatoes are fully cooked. Test the cooking thoroughness by piercing several pieces of potato with the spatula. If it easily penetrates, it is finished cooking. Add more salt and some pepper to taste, if necessary.
(7) Turn off heat and relocate the potato mixture into a large serving bowl.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

