Skip to content

Chinese crock pot pork trotter

April 4, 2013

Whenever I make anything involving bones, I love to braise them in liquid for a very long time in order to maximize as much nutrient extraction from the bones as I can. Bones, and I’ve found especially in trotter, are high in collagen, which helps strengthen and promote health in skin and bones. I try to get in a crock pot recipe involving bones at least once a week to get in that delicious nutrition. Pork trotters are no exception, especially when they have small bits of accessible marrow as a bonus.

Pork trotter

I also like to use some vinegar to help the leeching of nutrients of bones into soup. This makes the broth a bit more flavorful as well, and helps to soften the smaller bone fragments so that I can also chew on them. I love doing that.

Below is my basic recipe for the trotter in the crock pot. Sometimes, I like adding shiitake mushrooms and eggs. However, I have provided the basic recipe in order to get the basic flavor of the dish.

Ingredients
2-3 lb pork trotter
1/8 lb ginger, about 4 Tbsp chopped
3 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
4 pieces of star anise

Directions
(1) Slice ginger into thin pieces.
(2) Add all the ingredients to a crock pot and add water until it reaches just above the trotters. Add in a few pieces of shiitake or whole eggs in the shell, if desired.
(3) Cook on low for 8-10 hours.
(4) Alternatively, bring water to a boil inside a large pot with all the ingredients, with the water just covering the trotters. Bring down to a simmer and cook for 2-3 hours.
(5) Consume either hot or cold.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

