Skip to content

Espresso chocolate bars

May 4, 2013

Boy, have I been on a chocolate kick recently. I’ve been sucked more and more into grabbing a coffee every morning to begin my day at the local specialty shops, and it has been also feeding my cravings for chocolate and coffee combinations.

Chocolate espresso bar

First up is the Moonstruck Coffee from Portland, OR, with its dark chocolate espresso bean with 68% cacao. (As a side, I really want to kick myself for not visiting this place when I was there a few months ago).

The coffee beans were cut and scattered throughout the bar. The chocolate had a smooth and clean mouthfeel and finish, but I disliked the clear continuity of as big of a fan of taste. The bean was faintly smokey and had a tad too much citrus for my liking. Could detect a hint of vanilla, which may have made the taste more confusing.

Ingredients: dark chocolate (cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla), and roasted espresso beans.

Chocolate espresso bar

Unfortunately for me, the Charlotte’s Confections espresso chocolate bar from Napa was also disappointing in the same way.

The coffee grounds in this were smaller than that of Moonstruck, but again, a little too much citrus and too smokey. Additionally, this bar was a bit more earthy in taste, which to me, failed in muting a bit of the strength of the coffee. The chocolate was also a bit less smooth than the Moonstruck bar.

Ingredients were: dark chocolate (cocoa mass, cocoa butter, soy lecithin), vanilla extract, and ground coffee.

Chocolate espresso bar
Finally, Montreal’s Jelina Chocolatier bar was something I tried a while ago.

I actually preferred this chocolate the most. I think it was due to the fact that the coffee grounds were actually evaporated coffee, not the actual grounds from the bean, which helped to decrease the overwhelming flavors of the overall bar, whereas the actual coffee nibs unnecessarily increased the complexity. Since the flavors were more toned down and the citrus of this bar was not so apparent as the earthiness, I enjoyed this bar the most.

Ingredients included cocoa mass, cane sugar, cocoa butter, ground coffee, soy lecithin, and natural vanilla.

Dai Dai

From → Product reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

