Skip to content

Taro coconut milk ice cream

June 23, 2013

One ice cream flavor that I never see around is taro, which is a flavor I enjoy immensely in desserts. I used to be crazy for the taro frozen yogurt at Yogurtland, when I jumped on the froyo craze. Back when I drank a lot of Chinese bubble tea, I would choose taro almost every time. Something about taro and sugar and creaminess really excited my taste buds. So, taking the ice cream’s creamy sugariness into consideration, I decided to make a taro flavor.

Taro

I bought a bunch of these from the Asian grocery store. Currently not aware of any farmers around me who grow taro, so unfortunately, this was the first ice cream I made using a fresh ingredient that isn’t locally grown. Boo.

Taro is a root vegetable that is actually mostly white-colored, sometimes flecked with specks of purple. As it becomes cooked, it develops a greyish lavender color, which actually never blooms to a full-on beautiful purple, as most Chinese dessert-snacks may indicate. As a result, my ice cream stayed an off-cream color after the taro was incorporated.

Ice cream

Also, this ice cream was rock-hard straight out of the overnight freeze, due to the starch content. I had to let it sit at room temperature for at least half an hour before enjoying. Completely worth the wait.

Ingredients
3/4 lb fresh taro
2 cups coconut milk
1/4 cup sugar or equivalent in sweetener
4 egg yolks

Directions
(1) Boil the taro in water for 30-40 minutes, until the peel is easily taken off. Cool and peel.
(2) Combine the peeled taro with the coconut milk in a blender and blend until smooth.
(3) Heat mixture on medium-high heat in a pan over the stove until a simmer. Add sweetener and continue simmering on medium-low heat for a few minutes.
(4) Strain the mixture and return the liquid to the pan, allowing it to come back to a gentle simmer, with just enough heat so that there is no bubbling of liquid.
(5) Beat egg yolks in a bowl. Add some hot liquid into the bowl and stir. Do this 3-4 times until the egg yolks are well-incorporated into the liquid added without curdling or chunking.
(6) Add the egg yolk mixture to the rest of the liquid and stir. Stir constantly for about 10 minutes, until the mixture is as thick and viscous as pouring warm honey.
(7) Let the mixture cool and chill for about an hour.
(8) Transfer mixture to an ice cream maker and allow to aerate/churn for 10-20 minutes, depending on desirability of thickness/airiness of the ice cream.
(9) Allow to sit in freezer overnight to allow flavors to incorporate.
(10) To make ice cream scoopable, leave out at room temperature at least 30 minutes before eating.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Oooo, I really want to make this. I love taro bubble tea! I was scared to try it, but my brother convinced me, and I am glad he did.

    • Haha, it is a very different flavor! I’m glad you did too! Not many non-Asians I know actually try this particular flavor. Let me know when you get a chance to make the ice cream too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

