Skip to content

Bibimbap

September 22, 2013

One of my favorite foods to enjoy at restaurants is Korean bibimbap. I ate this for the first time in my life on a Korean Airlines trip to Asia 6 years ago, and I was definitely sold on first bite.

Some of the most awesome things about Korean bibimbap is that aside from the assorted vegetables and meats that make it healthy, the amalgamation of the entire bowl makes it taste much better than the single ingredients on their own.

Rice

I picked up some germinated brown rice when it was on sale. Most of the time when I have cravings for brown rice, the cravings don’t come a day in advance of when I want to eat it, and it is difficult for me to be able to germinate it in due time. With this bag, I can eat brown rice whenever I want.

Pork

I was too lazy this time to prepare my own meat ahead of time. Usually what is used in bibimbap is beef, but I like the taste of pork and got some ahead of time, from Whole Foods. This particular roast is garlic and pepper-crusted, so it fits in well with the overall dish.

Vegetables

The bright colors of vegetables for bibimbap make me pretty happy. I can get a pretty good variety in just one dish. I’ve seen that there is a leafy green vegetable, a root vegetable, mushroom, and sprouts, but generally one can use any vegetables they desire. In this instance, I used radish, radish leaves, carrot, mung bean sprouts, and shiitake mushroom.

Bibimbap

Voila! The completed dish. All the vegetables, meat, and the sunny side egg are layered over the rice right before eating. There is no gochujang, a spicy fermented Korean condiment, in this bibimbap since I am very sensitive to the spicy taste, so I just used miso. Some may argue that the gochujang makes the bibimbap.

Bibimbap

Mixing everything together is the fun part. Each bite has a bit of vegetable, meat, egg, and rice.

Ingredients
1/3 cup rice
2 Tbsp sesame oil
1 clove garlic
1 small carrot
2 radishes, leaves attached
2 shiitake mushrooms
1/3 cup bean sprouts
1 egg
3 oz pork, fully cooked and sliced
salt, to taste
gochujang, to taste

Directions
(1) Bring a pot with the rice, 1 tsp sesame oil, and 2/3 cup of water to a boil. When it comes to a boil, bring down to a simmer on medium-low and cook for 40 minutes. Be sure to evaporate the water towards the end and continue cooking for a crispier bottom.
(2) Cut up all the vegetables into small slices.
(3) Saute each in 1 Tbsp sesame oil and a few garlic bits until thoroughly cooked, seasoning with salt to taste. Due to the small amount of vegetables, it may be easier to saute all in the same time in a pan. Transfer to a plate when cooked.
(4) Fry egg, sunny side up, in remaining sesame oil.
(5) While the egg is frying, take rice from the pot and add to a large bowl. Take all the vegetables and meat and arrange them in the bowl separated from each other. Lay the fried egg atop the center of the bowl.
(6) Top with gochujang and mix up the ingredients before digging in.

Jal meokkesseumnida!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

