Skip to content

Easy pumpkin pudding

March 30, 2014

I’m always hard-pressed to find a decent, homemade dessert that is not too sweet, healthy, and ideally high in protein. Lately I have been having some tendon issues around my knee and wrist, so I have been beefing up all my recipes with some kind of gelatin, whether through soup bones or gelatin powder. Though I love making homemade sour gummies, where I pump up the lemon juice and barely add sugar, I was looking for a more “normal” recipe that incorporates gelatin.

My good internet acquaintance over at the Collagen Queen has been making a lot of delicious-looking gelatin-based recipes as of late. In one of the forums in which we participate, she was kind enough to share a pumpkin pudding recipe that requires no heating and stirring over the stove for long periods of time. I’ve incorporate a ton of my own edits to increase the protein content and decrease the fat content, but I have used her original gelatin + whole egg ratios, which makes the recipe the right texture for pudding.

Pumpkin

I actually made this all the way back at the New Years. There was a lot of canned pumpkin on sale, and I ended up buying cartons of organic pumpkin at Whole Foods for $2. More peace of mind on the packaging here.

Pudding

The pumpkin pudding turned out great. The taste is a bit bland because I like my desserts that way, and I could taste the pumpkin a lot more. I can understand if people would want to add more sweetener, but this definitely suits my taste.

Ingredients
1 tsp cinnamon
1/3 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 whole eggs
3/4 cup hot water
2 Tbsp gelatin
2 Tbsp maple syrup or equivalent in sweetener
1 15-oz carton or can of pumpkin puree
1/3 lb egg whites, about 5 eggs worth of whites

Directions
(1) Combine cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and whole eggs into blender. Add hot water and blend immediately.
(2) Add gelatin to blender and allow to incorporate for 15 seconds. Add the maple syrup and allow to incorporate for 15 seconds. Then add the pumpkin puree and egg whites. Blend for another full minute.
(3) Pour the mixture into a large container or baking pan. Chill overnight before consumption.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

