Skip to content

Dirty cauliflower rice with organs

February 13, 2015

While browsing through the farmers’ market last weekend, I was reacquainted with an old friend. This friend’s name is cauliflower.

Yellow cauliflower

While the farmer had a huge batch of white cauliflower laid out on tables, the yellow and purple ones jumped out at me with their beautiful and unusual colors. I ended up taking home this yellow one due to two reasons. First was that the purple and yellow cauliflower bunches tended to have a higher mass in the florets rather than the stem. Stems are harder to “rice” than florets for cauliflower rice. Second was that the yellow ones I found at the market tended to be larger than the purple ones. If I buy a whole cauliflower for $3, I might as well look for a heavy one.

As I continued with my shopping at the nearby Whole Foods, I became reacquainted with a couple more old friends: liver and gizzard. I had not had any for the last couple of months and I felt that a heavy dose of vitamins was in order. A quick decision at the market and I was headed in the direction of dirty rice, low-carb style.

This time on the cauliflower I decided to save myself the pain of using the food processor’s pulse function and, instead, used the shredder attachment that I had stored in the back of the cabinet. I was quite surprised at the difference it made! Not only did I not have to worry about pulsing in batches, but I also did not have to put so much effort into cutting the florets into evenly sized pieces. I will definitely using my shredder in future cauliflower rice recipes.

Dirty Rice

The liver, while small in quantity, really gave the whole recipe a rich flavor boost. While it is possible to also add some sausage to a dirty rice dish, I wanted to keep the recipe a bit more neutral in flavor, especially since the recipe already had so many flavors coming from the vegetables and cajun spices. However, Your Mileage May Vary.

For the recipe below, the jalapeño is optional if spiciness is desired. I left it out in mine because I can’t handle spicy food very well.

Ingredients
1/3 lb chicken gizzard
1/4 lb chicken liver
1 medium onion, about 1/2 lb
3 cloves garlic
1 small jalapeño, if desired
1 red bell pepper, about 1/3 lb
2 large stalks celery
3/4 lb raw cauliflower, about 3 cups “riced”
1 Tbsp cooking fat (I used lard)
8-10 sprigs parsley, about 1/2 cup chopped
2 tsp Cajun seasoning
1/4 tsp black pepper, or to taste
1/4 tsp salt, or to taste

Directions
(1) Clean the gizzards and remove the membranes. Dice the gizzard and liver into 1/2″ pieces.
(2) Dice the onion and mince the garlic and the jalapeno, if using. Dice the red bell pepper and celery. Set aside.
(3) Rice the cauliflower via grater, food processor, blender, or manual chopping method. Set aside.
(4) Heat cooking fat on medium-high heat. When hot, add gizzard and onion and cook until the gizzards begin popping, about 4-5 minutes. Add liver and garlic, stir to incorporate, and cook an additional 4-5 minutes.
(5) Coarsely chop parsley and set aside.
(6) Add the bell pepper and celery. Saute an additional 3 minutes.
(7) Add the cauliflower and stir for several minutes, until slightly browned. Turn down heat to medium and add parsley, Cajun seasoning, black pepper, and salt. Stir to combine.
(8) Turn off heat and let stand for several minutes. Serve warm.

Bon appetit!

Dai Dai

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

