Skip to content

Fat free potato spinach curry balls

July 19, 2015

Eating low fat does get quite difficult as options are limited and food becomes boring fast. After making the fat-free crispy potato puffs, I tried to get a little more creative on how I could jazz up the potatoes while keeping them fat free. One option was curry powder.

Mixture

I got the idea to make curry balls while eating Japanese curry one night. Since the curry and potatoes went so well together, I decided that an experiment with fat-free baking, potatoes, and curry was in order.

When coming up with the recipe, I really wanted to add some leafy vegetables into the mix to add nutrition. Spinach seemed to be the best option suited to both curry and potato, so in it went. I also had a bunch of leftover basil leaves from another meal, so I also added some chopped basil.

Curry balls

The hardest part about this recipe versus making the previous potato puffs was that there were a couple more steps to take before I could pop the recipe into the oven. I had to mash the potatoes so that I could mix in the vegetables and curry to disperse the flavor throughout the potato balls. Unfortunately, I do not have a potato masher, so I had to make do with a fork, which made some of the balls lumpy as I formed them. However, they still crisped up quite nicely in the oven.

Curry balls

I thought the basil gave the recipe a nice pop alongside the curry, similar to Thai curry, and the spinach stayed low-profile in the background. I did not roll the pictured potato balls in additional rice or tapioca flour, but the exterior does crisp up much faster with flour. Recipe below makes approximately 32 1″ balls.

Ingredients
1 lb potatoes
1/2 cup cooked spinach (can be frozen)
1 small handful of basil (about 5 leaves)
1 tsp curry powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp rice or tapioca flour (optional)

Directions
(1) Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
(2) Peel and cube the potatoes into uniform pieces. Bring the pieces to boil in a pot of water and allow to boil 15 minutes.
(3) Drain the potatoes and let sit to allow moisture to evaporate. Mash the potatoes in a bowl.
(4) Roughly chop the spinach and the basil leaves. Add to the mashed potatoes. Add the curry and salt, and mix to thoroughly combine.
(5) Scoop out 1″ round balls, coat with flour if using, and place in oven to cook for 30-35 minutes. Remove when browned as desired.

Enjoy!

Dai Dai

From → Recipes

5 Comments
  1. awesome and such a great snack, thanks for sharing this.. night snack problems solved 😀 just started following you, I have a vegan recipe/lifestyle & Cruelty-free beauty Blog as well, http://www.veganneeds.com
    so glad I found your blog & Happy to connect with you 🙂

  2. This looks so good, I love all things potato and am definitely going to try something like this soon

Leave a Reply

